Diablo® III

Demon Hunter EDPS Skill Setup?

All numbers are unbuffed, SHEET.
My 140k Dps DH (manageable EHP), vs a Monk with 70k DPS. Monk outperforms. Or WD with >100k DPS.
This is a topic of some debate on other forums but what would you all say is the best way to maximize EDPS with the skills DH has. Not sure how to pull it off at decent MP?s and be survivable. It would be nice to know since I am new to the game and worked hard to pimp my character just to watch other classes with half my DPS outperform by a wide margin. Does anyone Trap DH in HC? I feel like a glass cannon minus the cannon at the moment.
I'm stuck farming MP1 until I start spending billions or figure this out.
Edited by Sol#1136 on 7/16/2013 8:34 PM PDT
Reply Quote
DH dps has always been crap. Their paper dps just doesnt mutliply well.

However, dont fret too much. 70k dps monk probably spent just as much as you if not more in gear, same goes for the WD, their paper dps is just much lower.

When you are solo, echoing blast + bola is still the way to go since it will focus fire and AoE at the same time.

With a CM wiz or cyclone monk, RF is best since they will hold the mobs for you.
Reply Quote
Good to know, I've been using an unlimited hatred RF build since I posted and having fun with it, kind of sucks solo because I'm using too many defensive slots for hatred generation. I will try the bola/ trap variant instead for solo since that sounds like I can have full defensive skill layout as well:)
Reply Quote
BeerLeague explained the difference in sheet dps for the various classes pretty well... they aren't comparable.

My personal preferences for EDPS:

--Elemental Arrow: Ball Lightning - This is still one of the best (aoe) skills out there.
--Rapid Fire: Withering Fire - Cheap high dps single target.
Reply Quote
Hey Opiate,

Nice DH with an interesting skill layout !

What MP do you usually do?
Reply Quote
Hey Opiate,

Nice DH with an interesting skill layout !

What MP do you usually do?

Thx!