Diablo® III


The Sanctuary world map

The option to create games in Adventure Mode becomes available as soon as you defeat the boss of the final act in Campaign Mode. This mode allows you to create a game with all acts and waypoints unlocked as well as quests and story events disabled. Adventure Mode games provide new objectives not found in campaign mode, such as Bounties and Nephalem Rifts.

To begin a game in Adventure Mode, open “GAME SETTINGS” from the main menu and select “ADVENTURE”, then “START GAME”. Once you’re in an Adventure Mode game, you can use the “M” key (PC) or down on the D-Pad (Consoles) to bring up the world map and select which act and waypoint you’d like to explore. While in Adventure Mode, you can freely travel to any region in Sanctuary without having to create a new game.


Active bounties

While playing in Adventure Mode, you’ll be able to hunt for Bounties. Bounties are special missions to kill a specific enemy, clear an area, or complete an event. Successful bounties award gold and treasure, of course, but also crystalline blood shards – items which can be traded to the merchant Kadala in town for Horadric treasures and mysterious, apocryphal artifacts.

To see the available bounties in each act, press the “M” key (PC) to bring up the world map. Waypoints with nearby bounty objectives will be marked with a “!”, and clicking on one of them will teleport you there. Each time you enter Adventure Mode, two acts will offer extra rewards at random—these acts will be marked with “2x Bounty Rewards!” on the world map.

In addition to blood shards and other sundries, completing bounties will also earn you Rift Keystone Fragments, which are used to open dangerous and lucrative Nephalem Rifts (see below). Completing all of the bounties in an act will reward you with a loot-filled Horadric Cache, which can contain exclusive legendary items, Keystone Fragments, and other riches.

Nephalem Rifts

Face the unknown

Nephalem Rifts are alternate realities made up of randomly generated terrain containing unpredictable combinations of foes. Rifts can be accessed any time you have a Rift Keystone Fragment – simply click on a Nephalem Obelisk (located in any town). This will open up an interface where you can select and drag your Fragment to the open slot and hit “Accept” to open a Rift. In multiplayer games, each player will need to have a Rift Keystone Fragment in order to enter a Nephalem Rift. Inside Rifts you may encounter Pylons, which boost your abilities in rule-shattering ways. Defeating enough monsters inside a Nephalem Rift will summon a Rift Guardian, a powerful new foe with random (but terrifying) abilities...and magnificent treasure.

Greater Rifts

Activating a Nephalem Rift

Each vanquished Rift Guardian has a chance to drop a Greater Rift Key, which you can use by selecting the Nephalem Obelisk. This will open up an interface, where you can select and drag your Greater Rift Key to the open slot and hit “Accept” to open a Greater Rift. In multiplayer games, each player will need to have a Greater Rift Key in order to enter a Greater Rift. Like regular Rifts, a Rift Guardian will be summoned once you’ve slain enough enemies. But that is where the similarities end:

  • Greater Rifts have many difficulty levels— each one progressively harder. To reach the next level, you’ll have to summon and kill the Rift Guardian within a limited time.
  • Until the Rift Guardian is defeated, you cannot change your skills or equipment.
  • If you run out of time, you’ll still be able to complete your current level, but won’t advance further into more difficult levels within the current Greater Rift.
  • Your highest Greater Rift difficulty level completed and best time will be posted to the Rankings page.
  • Except for the Rift Guardian, monsters in Greater Rifts don’t drop loot, so you can focus on killing as fast as possible.
  • Rift Guardians in Greater Rifts may drop Legendary Gems.
  • Unless you've already contributed a Greater Rift Key towards opening a Greater Rift in a multiplayer game, you won't be able to teleport to players within that Rift.
  • Kill, don’t be killed. If you die in a Greater Rift, you can't revive at your corpse or in town — only at the last checkpoint.
  • If you complete the current level with an exceptionally fast time, you might jump ahead more than one difficulty.


Upgrade Legendary Gems in Greater Rifts

The ancient nephalem spirit known as Urshi will be summoned once you defeat a Rift Guardian. If you managed to defeat the Rift Guardian within the allotted time, you'll have the option of upgrading the rank of a Legendary Gem or the level of a Greater Rift Keystone (higher level Keystones allow you to open higher level Greater Rifts). If you defeated the Rift Guardian after the timer ended, you'll only be able to upgrade the level of a Legendary Gem.

You can earn additional attempts to upgrade your Legendary Gems by reaching higher tier Greater Rifts. Urshi's Legendary Gem upgrading enchantments won't always succeed, so you'll want to conquer more Greater Rifts in order to summon her again.

Legendary Gems

If you come across a Legendary Gem and select it, you'll notice it has a rank value below its name. Each time you meet Urshi by completing a Greater Rift within the time limit, you'll have the chance to upgrade the rank of your Legendary Gems. Increasing the rank of Legendary Gems unlocks additional properties that take effect when they are socketed into jewelery.

Loading Comments…

An error has occurred loading comments.