2000-2006 D2 got me through.

General Discussion
In high school, I played Diablo 1 the way it was meant to be played. In the middle of the night, with the lights off, in the basement. I still remember how I jumped out of my computer chair and almost lost it the first time the Butcher got the jump on me. "FRESH MEAT!!!!!" will always be a phrase I remember with a smile! (Eventually the joke was on him, because I figured out how to open the door, spam firewall, and close it before he could rush out and insta-gib me)

After that, I was in the navy for six long years. I joined before 9/11. I was a nuclear reactor operator. My job was extremely stressful, and when I spent month after month floating around at sea, life got pretty miserable. One of the only things I found comfort in, or that brought me peace during that rough time was Diablo 2.

I, like a lot of my shipmates, was all about Diablo 2 when it came out. A lot of us used a lot of our precious (and rare) time off to gain levels and kill stuff in single player, and occasionally hook a few laptops together for a co-op LAN game. After a while, we started to call it the "Time Machine", because we would start playing, and before you knew it 12 hours had disappeared, it was the next day, and time to go back to work. We had no way to play online, so we mostly played single player.

I completely understand why this game should be online-only. The spam from bots, and the hacking right now make D2 a less than fun experience, and keeping most of the game data on blizzard servers will help tremendously in stopping that.

But..... I can't help but wonder how much it sucks for current service members to miss out on such an anticipated game. It would be nice if there was some way Blizz could hook the military up with some kind of single player offline mode.

Thanks,

Teh Mung