Best class for a HC beginner?

Hardcore
I feel like venturing into the world of Hardcore, but I don't know what class to pick. Since I've never tried before, I defer to you the seasoned HC veterans for advice.
Not a seasoned vet, but I feel as if Barbarian is your best bet. Best defense, good offense. That is of course if you're playing by yourself. Having WoTB - Insanity just makes it so that no matter how slow you move, you will be able to overcome incoming challenges with adequate gear and minimal planning. Things can still go wrong, but Barbarian's have enough escape options and defense to make your mistakes more survivable.
WD is a solid choice, too. Never run a barb, though, so I can't really directly compare them.
I'm not seasoned, just a little spicy, but I'll offer my 2 cents.

Play whatever is most fun to level up since your character WILL die eventually. For me, WD is the most fun because I find almost all the builds easy to play around with, its a good farming character, and I'm head-over-heels in love with Jungle Fortitude.

If you find yourself too worried about dying, pick the character you know you are worst at and see how far you can make it. It gets those first time jitters out of the way and takes the pressure off living.

Happy hunting and welcome to HC
WD. You get a revive skill at level 30, an "oh !@#$ I need to get out of here" skill at level 16, and you get some pets in case you're not very good at kiting yet.

That said, any class will work just fine. I only suggest WD because it has some mechanics that are very friendly to inexperienced players.
#1 Witch Doctor
#2 Barbarian
#3 Monk
#4 the other classes

Another tip is to play a class you're familiar with already. So if the only class you've ever played is Wizard, then it might be a good idea to play HC as Wizard even though their skill set is not as tuned for HC as other classes are.