Screen gets distorted on my Macbook Pro

Mac Technical Support
Post Limit:
I have been having this problem ever since I started playing sc 2 about 8 months ago or so and have looked at the other threads of people with screen issues but can't seem to find a fix for this.

The problem is, when I'm playing, every now and then, like, sometimes 1 time a day, or sometimes every 2 or 3 games, the display will get "distorted" in a kind of "pixellated" manner. I can still see somewhat, but it's like big square pixels flash on certain spots of the screen at random locations and cover up whatever is under them with a solid color. The only way to fix it is to restart the game. Most of the time I just leave the game when it happens because it's too distracting most of the time.

It seems like it happens more frequently when my computer is hot. I have taken reasonable precautions to cool by computer down (always sits on a fanned laptop surface), but these Macbook Pros, and most laptops probably, are always going to run somewhat hot.

The thing is, it is just starcraft 2 that is affected by the problem. Actually, I take that back, it used to happen to me when I played runescape and I figured out I could fix it by opening up the world map and then closing it. I run pro tools for recording music, which I believe is at least as cpu intensive of a program as sc 2, but never have any trouble like I do with sc 2. Granted, sc 2 is probably more demanding of your video card. I have a hard time believing no more people are experiencing this. Probably not very many people playing sc 2 from a mac, so that may explain why I haven't been able to find much info on it.

Anyone know what I'm talking about?
Hi MisterSmee - which video chipset do you have in there? To find that out hit the Apple (at the top in Finder) > About this Mac > More Info > (under hardware) Graphics/Displays > Chipset.

Also, do you experience this with all of the graphical settings? Which have you tried so far?
Araxom,