Tier 12

New Player Help and Guides
I recently started playing a couple months ago, and still don't get the tiers of gear. I get that new ones come out and they are better than the old ones, but where does one get these? Are they raid drops? Justice point gear? Valor Point gear? I have no idea.
Raid drops and valor point gear. There are some pieces that can't be bought at the VP vendor though, like the helm.
So, you could get almost the full set by doing raids OR spending valor points? Or is it something like where the helm is only raid, the legs are only VP etc...
You can get the full set from just doing raids. You can't get the full set from just valor. Hope that made sense.

It also depends on the raid. The current raids, BoT, BH, BWD and Four Thrones offer T11 gear. T12 will be from the new raid coming out in 4.2, Firelands.
Ah, gotcha. Also, one more question. How long does it take to get the gear, as in what is the drop rate on them?
The T11 Chest, Gloves and legs are purchased with Valor points, which you aquire from doing raids and the first heroic dungeon of the day with the Random Dungeon finder.

The T11 Gloves and Legs have a low chance to drop from the Raid boss in Baradin Hold.

The T11 Helm and Shoulders only drop from Nefarian and Cho'gall respectively (Blackwing Descent and Bastion of Twilight raids, the final bosses of each). They drop a Tier Token that you use to purchase the actual gear from the Valor point vendor, but the tokens only drop in those raids, from those particular bosses, there's no other way to get the Helm or Shoulders.
i would also like to ask is it possible to get past tier gear ?
05/03/2011 01:23 PMPosted by Liior
i would also like to ask is it possible to get past tier gear ?

Some of it. Depends if it's been removed from the game or not. For example, the old T2 helm dropped from the old level 60 Onyxia raid, so you can't get those pieces anymore. Same with all of the old T3 that dropped in the old level 60 Naxx.