heirloom gear...

General Discussion
Post Limit:
okay so i have not played in a while and i am new to the heirloom gear. i know it is bind on account. so does that mean if i get on a diffrent server then i can still use that gear on a new toon i create there or does it have to stay on the same server as it is gotten on.
If you transfer servers and carry BoA gear with you, it stays BoA and you can mail it to any of your characters on that server.
Just what Ehcks said.

The plus with the gear, is that if you want to "start over" with the other faction, you can mail heirloom gear between your toons on different factions. I have been working on my mage over the last few weeks with gear that I purchased originally on my alliance toons. So that was nice.
Blizzard is currently working with ideas on how to make BoA gear able to be sent cross realm. Many people have suggested ways to make it happen, but in the end it has to do with the capability of their servers and code.

It will happen, just not yet. Cross faction is possible right now though.
BoAs (should be BoRealm), can only be mailed between characters of the same realm. Even opposite faction.

BoAs can also be mailed to another account with the same Battle.net account on the same realm.

Currently the only way to get existing heirlooms from one server to another is to transfer them with a character (at least level 10) holding them.

He did not ask if it can be MAILED at all. He asked if it can be USED on different realms. Stop with your own agenda.

Yes, they are Bind on Battlenet Account. You can use heirlooms on any character, on any realm, on any full WoW license attached to your Battlenet. Methods of moving the heirlooms around differ depending where you are sending them.