More then one pet out at a time...???

New Player Help and Guides
Hey,
I'm relatively new in WOW and I'm curious about the pets. I know you are allowed to have up to 5 "Active" pets, depending on your level of course, and then a bunch in a stable. So that's fine, I've learned where to find all of that and I am now at the point where I can have another pet (other then my white tiger given level 1) and have learned how to tame in order to have the second pet (two available slots). My problem is... when I read "Active" pet I assumed that meant I could actually have the two pets out with me at the same time fighting together. Me and two cats following. Is this not the case? I was trying to get them both out but it will only let me have one cat out at a time and I have to dismiss one in order for the other to come out. I am disappointed with this. Unless of course I'm doing it wrong, but I have seen other Night Elves walking with more then one creature following them. Unless of course those creatures are falling into a different category....I have seen the word companion floating about.
Active pet means a pet that you can call at any time. When you're 85 you can have 5 active pets. This doesn't mean you can have 5 out at once but it does mean that you can dismiss one and call another of the 5 without having to trek back to a stable (something you had to do before Cata).

So in short, no you can only have 1 pet out at a time.
If it says companion instead of pet, it is not the same as a hunter pet. A companion is just a vanity "pet" that will follow you around and look pretty.
02/02/2012 09:20 AMPosted by Tempestuous
Unless of course those creatures are falling into a different category....I have seen the word companion floating about.