the vanilla boomkin

Druid
So my love for the boomkin really started occuring around the middle of WotLK (I started playing the last couple months of BC)

I recall I was doing VoA on my shadow priest* and next to me was a Boomkin. I remember watching the spells and just being super intrigued by how odd they looked. I went on to make one** and I was instantly hooked.

I'm now pretty fanatical of the balance spec which has made me spend some time wondering what the balance druid of vanilla was lke. I'd love to hear anything about what they were like. Here're some examples of some things I'm curious of, but feel free to post any cool or interesting memories you have of the vanilla boomkin! I'm really stoked to hear from the veteran boomkins so please don't hold back! Thanks for your input =D

-Was there always a moonkin form?
-What was at the bottom of the talent tree?
-Were there quirky things about them that got nerfed?
-How was their DPS?
-What made you want to play balance?

*http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/lethon/Koldstare/advanced
**http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/lethon/Leaflock/advanced
-How was their DPS?

#1 - Nope. It came initially in patch 1.8. I'm not entirely sure what the official theory was behind it, but I guess blizzard just figured Balance needed something 'interesting'. A new form fit the profile, as neither resto or balance had one.

#2 - Erm... Was that hurricane?

#3 - Eh. A few maybe.

We had a 15% stun on starfall and starfire once upon a time, but that was dismissed when blizzard decided to murder most of the random stun effects (stunherald, mace spec, celestial focus, blackout, etc).

Back in the middle of burning crusade, up until roughly the hyjal raid... If you played a moonchicken, you were needing to play like a god in order to compete with the mediocre/lousy players of most other classes with a couple of exceptions.

You grabbed cloth because there were no useful leather options.