need help

I just started playing WoW. I dont understand some of the lingo, so please if you can, literally hold my hand and walk me through this. I am sorry.

So I decided to do a dungeon today with a group of people. Being a Warrior and watching my brother in law play, (he is in France on a french server, so if I could have him show me I would) Warriors are Tanks. So I went into the dungeon thinking I am in the correct stance which was Battle stance. So the first person we fought I was in battle stance.

After literally getting are !@# handed to us by the first battle, I was told I needed to be in Protection. Ok so I change the stance. But my numerical attacks (1= attack, 2=slam etc) were completely gone. I know some abilities are used in each stance and some are useless in certain stances.

My question is... in the Protection stance what is a good numerical que? And secondly is there a way to be a Tank in battle stance? I want to do raids, and seriously want to play the game, but I don't want to piss people off by not doing the correct setup. Like I said I am completely new to this type of gameplay so if anyone could explain it to me, or point me where I can learn this, I'd appreciate it. Thanks

You can hide your helm in the interface, that is all.
@ Belfalvas: Protection is not a stance, it is a talent tree, usually referred to as a "spec." The other two warrior specs are Arms and Fury, which are damage-dealing specs, and should not be used to tank.