Seeking advice on backstory

World’s End Tavern: Role-play and Fan Fiction
Ok, so I just started playing the game a few days ago, and I want to get into rp. Now, I have a general knowledge about the forsaken from in game quests, but I am not all that up to date on every piece of lore and whatnot. With that in mind, I wrote a basic backstory for my guy, which I will expand later on as I get better with the lore. So, I seek outside advice about my backstory. Any and all constructive criticism is welcome.

Character's Name: Gaream (Hides last name (read, have not come up with one yet))
Race: Undead (Formally human)
Faction: Forsaken
Current Residence: Undercity
Short Back Story: A former assassin for hire, Gaream made a nice living off his job, until the day one of the relatives of one of his former victims tracked him down and exacted a bloody vengeance. After being brought back to life as an undead, Gaream quickly adjusted to his new life. no longer forced to hide what he is, he has found a new role among the forsaken, now using his skills as an assassin to kill any who oppose them
Feels too generic.

Gaream could have been given a bounty to assassinate the leader of a cult outside (insert city name here). BUT IT WAS A TRAP. One of the high ranking members in the (city name) government could have hada personal vendetta against Gaream, and notified the cult before hand. Gaream was brutally murdered, and then turned undead through some horrific cult ritual. He would have been used as a thrall by the cult leader, before regaining his personality after however many years imprisoned. Now being an angry, undead sociopath, he could have proceeded to murder the cult barehanded, and joined the Forsaken.

Of course, this is only an example and you have no obligation to use it, but you need to let your imagination wander more. Back stories are what make our characters people, and if you keep your story generic, then your character will be generic.