MOP Healing Choices

New Player Help and Guides
Post Limit:
Hello, I am a fairly new player having been on only about 2 months, but during that time I have tried all three major roles (Tank, DPS, Heals) and have come to the conclusion that healing is what I prefer. Now with the release of MOP a lot of the guides I've bought and such are of little help. Now besides my Druid I have little to no experience with the other healing specs and nor do I know how they majorly differ or function.

So down to my question: What are the major differences NOW in the different healers (Disc/Holy Priest, Holy Paladin, Restoration Shaman, and Mistweaver Monk)? And what role (5-man, Raid, PvP) is each best for? And as far as what I am seeking in a healer class, I would prefer one that offers a lot of support spells (buffs, debuffs, Crowd Control), and more AoE heals than single target, and decent survivability.
All healers can heal in dungeons. All healers have buffs, debuffs, CC, and AoE healing. All classes/specs have survivability. That really doesn't narrow down the classes.

In a very VERY generalized nutshell:
Resto druid = HoT spells
Holy pally = direct spells
Disc priest = shielding spells
Holy priest = AoE spells
MW monk = healing through DPS

All healers have a large toolbox of AoE and single-target spells as well as their own class abilities, so it's mostly down to what flavor you specifically prefer.
I'll give you some info on what it's like to holy paladin right now, if that helps:

- not very mobile. We have some instant spells (Holy shock, Word of glory/Eternal Flame, Lay on Hands) but most of our heals have cast times. Now that haste is taking a backseat to mastery as our best throughput stat at max level (until we get... really massive amounts of spirit on gear I guess), some of those cast times are really long. (However, you can spec into a sprint, which is amazing!)

- prefers to stand in melee range to heal. We get mana back from melee autoattacking.