Tanking for the first time....

Paladin
Well.........as a RET just turned PROT for the first time as I hit 85 and moved into MOP and I have concerns about tanking.

I HAVE NEVER TANKED.

I can now queue for the first normal dungeon but Im reluctant to do so as I feel I will get crapped on since it will be my first time.

I suppose I could explain before the run starts this is my first time and they can work with me or boot me; their choice, but I dont want to sound snooty.

Should I just jump in and give it a go or should I wait a bit until I gain more levels and gear?
Well.........as a RET just turned PROT for the first time as I hit 85 and moved into MOP and I have concerns about tanking.

I HAVE NEVER TANKED.

I can now queue for the first normal dungeon but Im reluctant to do so as I feel I will get crapped on since it will be my first time.

I suppose I could explain before the run starts this is my first time and they can work with me or boot me; their choice, but I dont want to sound snooty.

Should I just jump in and give it a go or should I wait a bit until I gain more levels and gear?

Read the Prot Pally Guide - Protect the Pandas! sticky above. That should answer most if not all your questions on how to tank. It's easy enough to read for a first time tanker and the info is true into raiding.
You certainly want some tanking gear before starting. Nothing worse than a tank that can't take any damage.
When you zone in just say something like, "Hello all, first time tank here so take it easy on me. Any tips during the run would be appreciated."
Read the guides out there and tank, tank, tank tank and tank some more. Have fun with it!
If for some reason people get outta line, wait until the group is safe and politely bow out of the run. Say something like, "sorry guys this isn't working out, I hope your next tank is a better than I was," and click leave group.
02/13/2013 08:33 AMPosted by Frontiersman