New Prot Pally getting out threat by DPS

Paladin
So Im new to tanking. I know the rotations yet my gears is still....Ehhh. I qualify to tank heroics but Im finding that most of the time I get matched with DPS classes that are so superior 80,000 - 100,000 DPS that they are pulling threat constantly. Is it me or is it that there DPS is so high I cant maintain threat at my current gear level?

Thanks
sorry about that........here is my pally tank avatar.
A few tips - I would swap out Glyph of Hammer of the Righteous for Glyph of the Battle Healer and run Seal of Insight, as the extra healing will generate threat.

You can also swap out your level 90 talent for Holy Prism and use a self-targeted macro for it, which helps with trash pulls to boost your threat at the beginning. Don't be afraid to change it around though depending on the fight.

Aside from that, keep gearing up, read the protection sticky at the top of the pally forums for any other advice :)

Sample of the self-targeted prism macro, I use and works just fine.
#showtooltip
/cast [target=yournamehere] Holy Prism
Your expertise is really low, so that's hurting you. But I think the biggest issue is just your low gear. A 437 weapon is not going to hit very hard. Keep gearing up and see how it works out.
Generally I wouldn’t reforge gear under 450, but you may want to give it a try and throw what you can to expertise. The rule I follow (maybe wrong and I am sure I will be corrected) is to reforge your dodge and parry to expertise for now (let shield of righteous work for you, more hits more holy power). I see some critical on your neck piece too that could go to hit. See how that works for you. It’s relatively cheap.
Ill give ideas a shot. I know a lot of it has to do with my gear. I have been trying to run senieros and even tried heroics as Ret just to try and gear up.