Resto shaman help.

Shaman
Hey guys. Recently, my guild decided to switch things up. We had a member switch to his resto shaman, and I switched to my mage. But, i feel like his performance is lacking quite a bit. He is quite a bit undergeared, but I dont believe that is much of an excuse for what he is pulling. On a few fights he was even outhealed by our prot pally. So, I need some suggestions on what he could be doing wrong. Unfortunately, resto shaman are the only healing class that I do not play, so I'm not really sure what he is doing wrong.

Logs: http://www.worldoflogs.com/reports/rt-l9qvz6bszmpe61x0/
http://www.worldoflogs.com/reports/rt-bowsacm7p28ts25q/

His armory: http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/magtheridon/Sertros/advanced
I'm no Resto expert but right off the bat he's using Glyph of Riptide and that's supposed to be a horrible horrible idea in general.

Other than that, I've got nothing concrete.

I've heard that raids this tier are just bad for Resto healing because of the lack of stacking in fights and heavy movement (or something like that - I don't raid) so there isn't much opportunity for Healing Rain or Chain Heal to work very well.

I've also heard that if you have absorption-based healers in the same team such as Disc priests, then it's harder for Resto shamans to shine because of the nature of their Deep Healing mastery.
Priest/Druid is the same comp I heal with in my 10 man runs. As stated glyphed riptide is very, very rarely a good thing. I would suggest glyph of healing wave in place of it. This will allow him to keep up on his own health while healing others.

He has 2 piece set already, so keeping HST is a high priority. This will contribute to a great deal of healing. And as a smart heal will not often go unused. The use of greater healing wave is very high. I would recommend using healing wave more often, unless a big heal is needed fast.