Good Feedback: Tutorial.gid

New Player Help and Guides
Contents
1) Intro and basic theory.
2) Questions, good and bad, with reasoning
3) Example feedback.
4) Wrap up and cheatsheet.

This guide is for players who wish to improve the game by way of giving effective and useful feedback, by helping the devs recreate and understand the process behind a problem, instead of simply stating what it is. I will touch lightly on basic game design theory for the purpose of helping you understand how your feedback will be used, progress into some basic questions varying from "should be asked" through "right idea, wrong approach" to "Don't bother with", and finish with a few examples.

This is long(nearly 3000 words), so I have provided a summary check list at the end - I still recommend you read the good to bad questions, to understand the logic behind them.

Please note, and this is important:
I do not represent Blizzard in any capacity, I am an independent fun engineer, proud gamer and slightly insane. The purpose of this guide is the same as yours: Improve the game I love.

~Basic theory
Games come on many platforms, not being restricted purely to the digital variety - board, card and verbal are all valid platforms. Games invoke many feelings - joy, anger and even fear. Games teach you - math, problem solving or social skills. So what is a game?

A game is a set of rules that deliver an experience of some kind. A good game is one that succeeds, even if you don't enjoy it, in delivering to its target audience. You aren't playing a body doing repetitive motions on a multi-buttoned input device, you're playing a powerful master of the arcane, a peaceful caretaker of nature, a harbinger of death or maybe an easily distracted bearer of the light - these are the experiences. Slaying a thousand year old beast, returning a little girl to her parents safely, wreaking destruction upon unsuspecting townships and protecting your herd from invaders are all experiences too.