From a 3* Master: The woes of Priests, Part 1

So with the recent announcement that Mind control is getting its cost raised to 10 mana, there have been a lot of debate about if this will fix Priests. As an active Yu-Gi-Oh player I could show you a chart about how each “Mind Control”-like card have been historically banned. However this isn't really that relevant in Hearthstone and I would also rather talk about the issues with priests that are far greater than Mind control. So that is exactly what I am going to do, so sit tight because this is going to be a long one.

So first some introduction. My name on the internet is Sumadin, and I am currently Three-star master on the EU beta server. The class I used to get to here was primarily Paladin but I got a moderate amount of experience with all the classes by now, including Priest itself. As said I am also a veteran TCG player with experience primarily from Yu-Gi-Oh.

The first thing you got to understand is that these points are entirely from the view of constructed play. I am not much of an arena player, but I am well aware that different rules of deck building applies. As such a lot of the points presented here don't really applies in Arena. They are only meant to be viewed at from the perspective of competitive constructed at the highest level.

So I guess the primary question from everyone would be: Are Priests currently overpowered at the highest level? And I can tell you right now, no they aren't. Even with the current Mind Control. If I were to make an estimate I would say I personally have anywhere from 70 to 80% win rate vs. Priests as 3-star master and that is with multiple classes.