Warlocks missing more taunt cards

Hi, I'm very new to playing hearthstone and I really like all the classes. The warlocks at low level (I'm up to level 6) has been really terrible for me. Here is why:

1) My main ability deals me damage but allows me to draw a card.
2) I very rarely get taunt cards in my hand.
3) The cards I do get have high mana costs associated with them or have low mana costs with very low damage abilities.
4) Many cards I get do insta damage to opponents minions but don't drop a minion on the board for me to use in the long run.

I will qualify this, I play a warlock in wow as my main. This is where my logic comes from. I'm used to, in wow, having a taunt pet always and on top of that I can recast him fairly quickly. I feel like the warlock main ability should not be deal damage to self and draw a card. It should be deal damage to self and get a taunt pet.

The problem is this for me, most of the game play I'm busy dealing damage to myself and trying to get a taunt pet out there. If I'm just laying down regular minions the opponent is healing themselves and dealing high damage to me and wiping out my hard hitting minions. I really feel strongly that all the other classes I've played get a lot of cheap taunt pet drops.

It just seems wrong that my main ability deals damage to myself. Some of the abilities I have deal damage to everyone and then I have very low taunt pet drops. To be honest there are times when I spend time just helping my enemy kill me because I need a freaking taunt pet drop or I'm pretty much just dead (the minions don't deal any more damage to my opponent than my opponents pets deal damage to me).