An Honest look at Unleash the Hounds

I personally can't stand this card from a design aspect in any way. I have been playing TCG's for almost 2 decades now and I can honestly say there is no other card I can think of that angers me as much. That being said, I will show an honest look at this card.

Let us look at the niche that this card is supposed to fill.

Blizzard says that this card is supposed to be hunter's "AOE" ability. This seems odd to me considering how many cards the hunter has that can be considered AOE. This includes Explosive Trap, Explosive Shot, and Multi Shot. Each of these cards are GREAT cards. When we look at other class AOE, there are some that aren't so good, ie arcane explosion. While things like Blizzard DO freeze, to do 2 damage to everything it costs mana. As well as consecration costs 4 mana.

With all that being said, all those AOE spells do the same damage unless you have spell power buffs on the board. As we know, +spell power cards are either BAD or not cost effective when playing cards such as Blizzard and Consecration, they just cost too much by themselves. There is no costs effective synergy when it comes to the class AOE spells. Let us look at how EASY it is to combo with Unleash the Hounds for a low cost.