How to handle traps?

I usually play Shaman and the mindset is that you never play totems and you always activate the traps against a Hunter. I started playing Paladin and Mage to try them out and how should I handle the traps? How should I respond if he has a bow and he plays a trap where none would have a big impact to the board? Example being, he plays explosive trap when my creatures have 4+ health, however he has a Bow out.

I don't wish for hostile replies, I'm not complaining about Hunter I just feel like there's more to know when it comes to tactics while playing against them.

I don't have too hard a time as a Pally since I have a total of 28 points of healing in the deck, however it's a bit more difficult as a Mage because my only life gain is 2 Earthen Rings
Reply Quote
Well, not playing totems because of UTH isn't the best strategy. Instead you should take UTH and the popularity of Hunters into account when creating your deck. There are 2 options to go as a Shaman in this regard:
1. Play swarm Shaman style, which plays plenty of cheap minions instead of the hero power, that way all your minions are threatening to your opponent rather than being pure support like the totems. Which in turn forces the Hunter to react to you even more than he'd normally like with the UTH timing. Basically you want to be playing similar to how Warlock Zoo plays, make favorable trades and mix in a few taunt minions to mess up the Hunter's game plan, while still going for the face often enough, which is a good plan vs Hunters as you have more reach with Lightning Bolt, Lava Burst and of course Bloodlust.