Walking in an eSports Wonderland

Walking in an eSports Wonderland

The holiday season is well underway, but the StarCraft II tournament scene hasn't taken a break quite yet. We'd like to highlight a couple of exciting events taking place this week that will put a spring in your step, and help keep your eSports thirst quenched through the end of the year. So gather 'round the warmth of the computer screen, top off your Barcraft mugs with eggnog, and tune in to the fun.


Global StarCraft II League: The 2012 Blizzard Cup

This week, GOMTV rounds out an excellent year of StarCraft II competition by hosting the 2012 Blizzard Cup tournament. The event features 10 of the top performing players from international and GSL tournaments held throughout 2012.

Competition began earlier this week, as the players were split into two groups of five for best-of-three matches in round robin format. Though the group stage has already reached its conclusion, the Blizzard Cup continues this week with the playoff bracket. The playoff broadcasts will take place Wednesday and Thursday, December 19 - 20 at 1:10 a.m. PST (6:10 p.m. KST), while the grand finals kick off Saturday, December 22 at 12:10 a.m. PST (5:10 p.m. KST).

Find out who among these 10 champions will be crowned as the top player of 2012 by watching the live show each night on the official GOMTV site. If you'd prefer to watch at your leisure, all VODs from the event will be made available on the 2012 Blizzard Cup league page.


HomeStory Cup VI

It's time once again to visit Dennis 'TaKe' Gehlen at his home in Krefeld, Germany for HomeStory Cup VI. Thirty two top StarCraft II players will compete for their share in the $25,000 prize pool from Wednesday, December 19 through Saturday, December 22.

Stop by the HomeStory Cup VI info page for complete event details, including: a full player list, the broadcast schedule, and competition format. You can catch the action all week long with shoutcasters TaKe and Kevin 'RotterdaM' van der Kooi as they cover each match on the main stream. On the event's B-Stream, pro players will trade their keyboards in for microphones to commentate games that will not be shown on the main stream.

The show kicks off each day at 5:00 a.m. PST (2:00 p.m. CET), with the exception of Saturday's broadcast, which starts at 6:00 a.m. PST (3:00 p.m. CET). There are a number of amusing side-events planned in addition to the main tournament, as well as 350 Heart of the Swarm beta keys to be given away to live and online audiences, so don't miss out! HomeStory Cup VI is guaranteed to be an event to remember.

Loading Comments…

An error has occurred loading comments.