StarCraft® II

New to StarCraft II? Try free now
The page you're viewing is not yet available on the new StarCraft II website, but can still be accessed on the Classic site below!

Azubu Collegiate Champions Grand Final this Weekend

Azubu Collegiate Champions Grand Final this Weekend

The Azubu Collegiate Champions tournament brought global competition to the Collegiate Starleague's sixth season last November, as 256 StarCraft II teams hailing from universities around the world vied for a slot at the Grand Finals. Now that the playing field has been whittled down to just four teams, the tactical masterminds representing the University of Washington, UC Berkeley, Aarhus University, and Chunnam Tech will face off tomorrow, February 16, to decide who will be taking home the $40,000 grand prize from the Petersen Automotive Museum in Los Angeles, California.

Despite having to strike a balance between their studies and StarCraft II practice throughout the season, each of the semifinalist teams still managed to show off their talent, and pave the road behind them with accomplishments. Conan 'Suppy' Liu and the UC Berkeley team are looking to add a second gold medal to their CSL trophy case, while the University of Washington team and Lok-Yin 'KawaiiRice' Kwong hope to improve on their second place finish at the CSL season five finals. Denmark’s Aarhus University rocked the European bracket after toppling Polytechnic Catalonia’s Pedro 'LucifroN' Moreno Durán and Juan 'VortiX' Moreno Durán, while the Chunnam Tech team, powered through top Korean players such as Seohyeon 'SeoHyeon' Park and Choi 'Polt' Seong Hoon on their way through the Asian bracket.

This event will push each team to its limits with matchups featuring five back-to-back 1v1s, followed by a 2v2. In the event of a tied series, an additional 1v1 ace match will be played to determine the winner. The CSL's own Ferguson ‘Ferg’ Mitchell and Daniil ‘Cheeseheadlogic’ Pauley will be joined by shoutcasters Tricia ‘Megumixbear’ Sugita and Sean ‘Day[9]’ Plott as they cover all the exciting team competition this weekend.

The venue will open its doors to audience members free of charge at 10:00 a.m. PST tomorrow, and the first match begins just one hour later as Aarhus University takes on UC Berkeley. If you can’t attend in person, be sure to check out the official CSL stream on to follow the day’s action-packed events.

Loading Comments…

An error has occurred loading comments.