StarCraft® II

SC2 Crash

Posts: 18
My game is crashing and I have posted about this under the title of not being able to see pylon power. That thread is no longer being looked at by anyone for several day so here comes a new!


My game is crashing. It just goes to a blue screen like the background before you log into windows, that color blue not the BSOD.



It is not heat checked that with the program one person advised. Have all the new drivers. My comp runs every other game I play and no problem. It just recently started I am not sure if happened before the latest patch or even when the latest patch was.

All of the temps are ok and I just had a crash.

The cores, 4 of em, are all around 46 + - 3.

The cpu on the graphics card is at 59.

The drivers are all up to date. I even have the quick fix that was mentioned somewhere. I can run all my other games just fine so I do not think it is an underpowered graphics card. I have the two pci e plugs plugged in and it is a 500 w power supply.

Win 7 64 bit 6.1 build 7600

Intel Core TM 2 Quad CPU Q 6600 @ 2.4 GHz

4096 MB RAM

DirectX 11

ATI HD 4800 Series

8.782.1.0

10/26/2010

DDI version: 10.1


How do i view my minidump file so i can post it.

Edited by NineofClubs on 11/13/2010 9:39 AM PST
Reply Quote
Posts: 2,215
Crash Log
C:\Users\[your name here]\Documents\StarCraft II\GameLogs

Click on the one with the most recent date. Once in there you'll be presented with many other files. Select the one that opens with notepad, and then copy-paste it to here if you can.

Drivers
This blue screen sounds similar to the black screen attributed to a Starcraft II bug on Vista/7 computers with Nvidia GPU/AMD MOBO or AMD GPU/Intel MOBO. In the system tray (bottom right) it would say "display driver has crashed" and then "display driver has recovered" several moments later. Updating or roll-backing drivers usually fixes. Let's update first.

10.10e hotfix is out for Widnows 7. Came out very-very recently.
http://support.amd.com/la/kbarticles/Pages/GPU87AMDCat1010eHotfix.aspx
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1901/AMD_Catalyst_10.10e_Hotfix.html
Reply Quote
Posts: 18
I want to start by saying thank you so much for taking the time to look at this thread and post a response.

Did the driver hot fix. Restart still same issue. It will play for a bit then freeze like the computer has alot to think about. Then wil blank for a sec black white fuzz then come back. Some times repeats sometimes goes a while.

As for my game logs I only have one from the 8th of November and I has alot of text I do not think you want.

But here is the first part. I do not know if this relates to my error. Whenever it crashes it never logs an error apparently, unless I am looking in the wrong place

================================================================================
StarCraft II (B16755)
Time: 2010-11-08 23:22:09.504
Exe: C:\Program Files (x86)\StarCraft II\Versions\Base16755\SC2.exe
Parameters:
Exe Built: 2010-11-04 14:51:47.882
User: Kevin
Computer: DECEPTICON
Version: 1.1.2.16755
Branch: branches/1.1.2
Revision: 85699
Locale: enUS
================================================================================

e_gfxGraphicsAPIError
"StarCraft II has encountered an unexpected DirectX/OpenGL error. This may indicate an issue with an out-of-date videocard driver. If the problem persists, for more information consult our support website at http://starcraft2.com/support."
Error code: D3DERR_INVALIDCALL (8876086C)
BackBufferWidth=0
BackBufferHeight=0
BackBufferFormat=21
BackBufferCount=1
MultiSampleType=0
MultiSampleQuality=0
SwapEffect=1
hDeviceWindow=328812
Windowed=1
EnableAutoDepthStencil=0
AutoDepthStencilFormat=0
Flags=0
FullScreen_RefreshRateInHz=0
PresentationInterval=-2147483648


Reply Quote
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 1,612
NineofClubs,

I don't think your computer is crashing. I think your monitor is going out of sync.

Follow the steps below:
1. Open your "Documents" or "My Documents" folder.
2. Find the StarCraft II folder in this folder and open it
3. Look for a file named Variables.txt, double click on this file to open it.

The file should contain many different settings saved in alphabetical order. The lines you will need to find are the following:

height=
refreshrate=
width=

Set the numbers for these lines to match your system display setup, for example:

height=768
refreshrate=60
width=1024

Now save the file and try launching the game again. It should work fine.

Let me know if you have any questions. :)

Sorry about the other thread, by the way. I assist with a lot of other projects that take away from my time on the forums and can lose track of threads.

Edited to remove silly Windows XP instructions. :)

________________________________________________
Tech Support
Tues - Sat || 645a - 345p PST

With apologies to Mr. Clemens:
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a troll than to click 'submit' and remove all doubt.
Let me know how I am doing! - <a href="<a href="<a href="http://www.surveymk.com/s/HKZMX6W""" target="_new">http://www.surveymk.com/s/HKZMX6W""</a> target="_new">http://www.surveymk.com/s/HKZMX6W"</a> target="_new">http://www.surveymk.com/s/HKZMX6W</a>
Edited by BrianI on 11/13/2010 2:51 PM PST
Reply Quote
Posts: 2,215
Overheating
Did the driver hot fix. Restart still same issue. It will play for a bit then freeze like the computer has alot to think about. Then wil blank for a sec black white fuzz then come back.

Since driver update didn't work, we may want to roll back drivers. First, let's see if it's overheating.

Overheating the GPU can cause this problem too. This is because of an overwrite bug in Starcraft II (some-what fixed, but not 100% fixed for all users) causing GPUs to be overworked (on rare occasions, melt thermal paste, and thus GPU too). Frame-rate cap could fix, but let's run HWMonitor to check rest of the system too.

Frame-rate Cap
C:\Users\[your user name here]\Documents\Starcraft II\variables.txt

This will open variables.txt in notepad. Insert these lines if you can:

frameratecap=60
frameratecapGlue=40

Temperature Monitor
http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html

DirectX Redistributable
Error code: D3DERR_INVALIDCALL

StarCraft II has encountered an unexpected DirectX/OpenGL error.

Could be DirectX. Rather than have you run the debugger, run the update first.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=2da43d38-db71-4c1b-bc6a-9b6652cd92a3&displaylang=en
Reply Quote
Posts: 18
BrianI, thanks for the update.

It still did not work. I added refresh rate, because it was not in the variables, and set the other two. They were already set at what my desktop runs at 1680x1050. Should I have changed them?



Aragon: I tried to run the direct x thing but windows gives me a fail everytime tells me to look for logs that do not exist. This could be the issue but how do I resolve it this thing wont run.

I already have the heat monitor and it is not heat. They are running with norms. The cores dont go above like 46 celcius. And 57 constantly for the graphics. Ihave already checked that to see.
Reply Quote
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 1,612
Yes, you'll want to change them to 1024x768.

I'd also recommend trying displaymode=1 or displaymode=0 to force it to windowed mode.
________________________________________________
Tech Support
Tues - Sat || 645a - 345p PST

With apologies to Mr. Clemens:
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a troll than to click 'submit' and remove all doubt.
Let me know how I am doing! - http://www.surveymk.com/s/HKZMX6W
Reply Quote
Posts: 127
Hey BrianI, Just wanted to let you know that your info helped a ton. I can now open/play sc2 without it crashing. Keep up the good work +10 internets to you =P
Reply Quote
Posts: 16
I have a similar problem but in the variables.txt file i can't find the line refreshrate there isnt one.
Reply Quote
Posts: 16
None of those have helped me :( please help im in withdrawl
Reply Quote
Posts: 258
Hi Brian my game has also crashed a couple of times. As you may see I am very new to this so I would like your help on how to diagnose and solve this problem that I am having
Reply Quote
Posts: 1
I wanted to highlight Aragorn's advice. It helped me, years after the original post. With HotS out, figured there might be a new wave of people experiencing issues. This thread has great advice. Bump.
Reply Quote

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)
Submit Cancel

Reported!

[Close]