StarCraft® II

Starcraft 2 matchmaking? Really?

Hi,

I am a newbie player, and id like to actually try to learn to play the game well.

And, lets be real, bots are too easy to beat since they act a specific way and you can predict what they will do.

To learn, you must play against other players.

But why in hell do i get matched up against people 10x my level, in gold league?

There is no learning here, i just get crushed, and feel bad...

Can't i like practice against people of my skill level? Is it too hard to ask for?
Reply Quote
With the number of games you've played, yes. You don't even have a large enough sample of games for any good algorithm to match you well against fair opponents.
Reply Quote
So he has to play more games, and lose, before the computer catches on that he sucks?
Reply Quote
I just triple checked and you aren't even in a league yet. The system has not had 5 placement matches either this season or a previous season ever for it to help determine your skill level, and by extension, the opponents it would deem fit to match against you.
Reply Quote
11/06/2013 07:05 PMPosted by Irasiel
But why in hell do i get matched up against people 10x my level, in gold league?

Because the Gold league ladder has been the Limbo for lon standing Platinum and Diamond players for months and months now. Its impossible to get out.
Reply Quote
11/06/2013 07:21 PMPosted by Reparkable
So he has to play more games, and lose, before the computer catches on that he sucks?

7 games played, 3 wins. That doesn't sound so bad to me, especially without ever having been placed.
Reply Quote
Are you talking about the 5 Placement Matches? The 5 games you need to take before your placed in the ladder?

That pits you in against a larger variety of skill levels, so it can determine what your skill level is.
Once you actually get placed in a league, it should put you in fair games.