StarCraft® II

A detailed guide to Terran FFA

Hi guys, I think it would be best if I start out by talking a little about myself and why I'm writing this guide. I am a veteran of RTS games and a veteran of War Craft 3. I played WC3 for 7 years and honed my strategy skills by playing it over such a long period. I also played Command and Conquer: Red Alert 2 Yuris Revenge for a year before I moved onto WC3.

I did play FFA on WC3, but it was far less enjoyable because of long search times, upkeep, and a relatively small food limit. WC3 ffa was mostly about hording resources, manipulating, creeping your heroes to high level, and having the smallest army possible until you actually needed one. I am going to spend this guide explaining how to play ffa from the terran perspective.

Some of you may be wondering why I'm posting a guide about a ladder that isn't ranked. The reason is because some people are playing this game to get achievements as well as good ladder records. Besides, why take 4,000 ffa games to get 800 ffa wins when you could do it in half that many or less?

Some things I will cover in the guide include:
I. Starting build orders
II. What to scout for
III. Army compositions and counters
IV. Expoing and Macro
V. Micro
VI. When to attack and your goal when attacking
VII. Replays that include wins, losses, and fundamentals I talked about

I. Starting Build Orders:

Any and all build orders assume that you are producing scvs constantly. I do not deviate from my starting build order unless I see an all out rush coming. Build orders used in solo that include reaper, hellion, or banshee harassing should not be used because ffa is about acquiring the strongest late game as quickly as possible. Harassing opponents in ffa will only make them more likely to suicide you and ruin your chances of winning. You should reserve harassment for softening up an opponent before attacking.