StarCraft® II

What the heck is the max res in sc2?

Posts: 540
I want to buy a new monitor and yeah good to know.
Reply Quote
Posts: 2,190
I play it on 1920 x 1200, but I think it might go up to 2560 x ? (something like this, I don't know what the next tier is off the top of my head).

Unless you have a beast of a computer, you probably wont notice the difference between 1920 x 1200 and what ever is higher though.
Reply Quote
Posts: 171
I play at 2048x1152 at Ultra and the only thing that looks like it needs some Anti-Aliasing is the Hyperion in the background when you load up the game.
Reply Quote
Posts: 562
If you want to see the most screen real estate SC2 is optimized for 16:9 monitors.
Reply Quote
Posts: 2,190
If you want to see the most screen real estate SC2 is optimized for 16:9 monitors.


Are you sure 16:9 and not 16:10?

16:10 is more standard for computer monitors, I thought.
Reply Quote
Posts: 918
16:9 seems to gain traction.

I'm also playing on 2048x1152 on Ultra and agree with Cirrus: Need Anti-Aliasing! (ATI released a new Beta Driver that allows AA btw. Don't want to install Beta Drivers though. nVidia apparantly also allows to force AA through their drivers).
Reply Quote
Posts: 562
If you want to see the most screen real estate SC2 is optimized for 16:9 monitors.


Are you sure 16:9 and not 16:10?

16:10 is more standard for computer monitors, I thought.

Positive, image related: http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/7835/sc2rescomparison.gif
Edited by weaknurse on 8/2/2010 9:29 PM PDT
Reply Quote
Posts: 236
If you want to see the most screen real estate SC2 is optimized for 16:9 monitors.


Are you sure 16:9 and not 16:10?

16:10 is more standard for computer monitors, I thought.


It is definitely optimized for 16:9. My main computer monitor is 1920x1080 so that is fine, however my gaming laptop is 1680x1050 which is a 16:10 resolution. However, when I set my laptop to a 16:9 resolution on my laptop you can clearly see more. So yes it is optimized for 16:9.
Reply Quote
Posts: 171
16:9 seems to gain traction.

I'm also playing on 2048x1152 on Ultra and agree with Cirrus: Need Anti-Aliasing! (ATI released a new Beta Driver that allows AA btw. Don't want to install Beta Drivers though. nVidia apparantly also allows to force AA through their drivers).
I didn't say AA was needed I was just saying the only thing that I saw that kinda needed it is the background when you are logging in and in the battle.net menus. I don't really care about that. When you are playing a mission in campaign or a map on multi-player I don't notice anything that needs AA.
Reply Quote
Posts: 918
Whoops, my bad. Then I agree with myself when I say I want AA :D
Reply Quote
Posts: 2,190
Positive, image related: http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/7835/sc2rescomparison.gif


Oh, cool, thanks for the little .gif :)
Reply Quote
Posts: 562
Positive, image related: http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/7835/sc2rescomparison.gif


Oh, cool, thanks for the little .gif :)

No Problem.
Reply Quote

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)
Submit Cancel

Reported!

[Close]