StarCraft® II

Authenticating Download of Mac Client

I had been playing sc2 on a windows PC for about the last 9 months or so and when I got a mac to replace the old computer I tried to download the client. Upon clicking the downloader I get the following error:
There was a problem authenticating your download. Please go to http://www.blizzard.com/account/ to start a new download.

I have seen some other people post no this topic and it seems that no one has had very much success. I would appreciate some guidance on this issue. Thanks
Reply Quote
Support Forum Agent
First is probably the easiest. Try a different browser. Safari & Firefox, for example, handle downloads slightly differently.

Second, make sure that any security programs you have installed are either configured properly to allow the download or removed altogether.

Third, if you're normally using a wireless connection, we would ask that you connect to a wired connection, bypassing the router if at all possible.

If you are running any kind of torrent program, you will want to make sure that it is not running when you start downloading.

If that doesn't work, the DNS cache may need to be flushed. To do this go into the Terminal (Go > Utilities > Terminal) and type in the following:

For Leopard (10.5) & Snow Leopard (10.6):
dscacheutil -flushcache
Press Return

**Note: Terminal will not tell you if it's successful, only if there was a problem.

You can also try creating a new admin account:
1. Go to Apple menu => System Preferences => Accounts
2. Create a new Admin account
3. Log into that account
4. Go back into the www.blizzard.com/store and sign in
5. Now go ahead and download downloader
6. Download the installer into the following folder: Mac HD => Users =>Shared
7. Log back into your original Account
8. Run the installer from the shared folder

Klint P
ATS - Mac Tech

The Restrooms are for paying customers only.

Cannot find a resolution on the forums, contact a Support Rep directly: