StarCraft® II

Units that can 'crush' things

In the campaign, there's a mission where you control Tychus when he's in that big thor. As you walk around, the thor crushes ambient doodads, like lamp posts, cars, etc. I've been fiddling with the map editor and I'm a total newb at it; I can't figure out how to make other units who can crush things like that. Can anyone help out?

I'm kind of interested in making a silly map that's like Gundam or an old Power Rangers where giant robots fight giant monsters. Local buildings and things would get destroyed as they fight. I'm not sure if I can eventually get that, but it's at least a fun undertaking. ;p

Thanks!
Reply Quote
Have you tried looking at the map in the editor?
Reply Quote
Maybe just have anything that goes near them be destroyed? Thus giving the illusion of them getting crushed? :D
Reply Quote
I would try opening up that map and seeing how they did it, like Quanta said. But barring that, you could try automatically destroying / killing anything that enters the unit's footprint. (I'm assuming there's a way to do that, possibly by attaching a region to the unit that is the same size as its footprint.)
Reply Quote
It would be done the same way as a maze map is done (if you ever played those). Basically, when a unit is a certain distance from another it dies. You can easily do this with triggers, if you're familiar with them.
Edited by RabidFrog on 8/11/2010 12:41 PM PDT
Reply Quote
I did finally find the Odin in the map editor. It took me awhile because I was looking for Tychus at first. Oops :p

He does have a strange ability I'm not sure I understand entirely- Odin Wreckage. I'm assuming that has something to do with it. The flage checked for it are Ignore Facing, Ignore Placement, Suppress Movement, and Wait Until Stopped. I'm not sure if that's relevant or not. ;p
Reply Quote