StarCraft® II

I'm a Theoretical Physicist. Ask me things.

( This was primarily inspired by another "ask me things" post.

Exactly what the title says.
Reply Quote
Can you please explain, simply, the basic premise of string theory and quantum mechanics. I am hideous at physics.

Also I am flattered. <3.
Reply Quote
Can you please explain, simply, the basic premise of string theory and quantum mechanics. I am hideous at physics.

Also I am flattered. <3.

String Theory basically states that electrons and quarks are not 0-dimensional objects, but 1-dimensional oscillating "strings". In layman's terms, these strings connect all of the electrons within an atom.

As for Quantum Physics, it states that, as humorous as this may sound, anything can happen at any time for any reason. Typically, these "random events" are explained with electrons, which, according to this theory, are simultaneously waves and spheres.

Thanks for asking, hope I helped!
Reply Quote
So you're telling me that a mutalisk could appear if I finish this sentence? I find it unlikely. It seems like the rhetoric of "well what if the sun DOESN'T rise tomorrow?" well, there is always a chance, but it is very remote.

Would these quantum events be something that could be predicted?
Reply Quote
What do you think of quantum entanglement? I took my first college physics course last semester, and my professor seemed to think it was a bunch of *ahem* "BS", yet I read about it all the time.
Reply Quote

Also I am flattered. <3.

String Theory basically states that electrons and quarks are not 0-dimensional objects, but 1-dimensional oscillating "strings". In layman's terms, these strings connect all of the electrons within an atom.

As for Quantum Physics, it states that, as humorous as this may sound, anything can happen at any time for any reason. Typically, these "random events" are explained with electrons, which, according to this theory, are simultaneously waves and spheres.