StarCraft® II

Starcraft 2 shuts down my computer

While playing starcraft II, my computer will randomly turn off out of no where. This has never happened before until I started playing sc2. It's happened about 5 times, and usually happens when I have either Itunes or firefox open. It's happened twice in a row today. First time I had Itunes, firefox, and ventrilo open, and was minimized when the pc turned off. Second time I had ventrilo and firefox open. It usually occurs in the menu of the game. Today it occurred while alt tabbed in the menu, and again right as my team placed a game.

I scan for viruses daily, I defrag once a week, scan disk a few times a month and run spybot sd regularly. My computer is not overheating.

Basic stats:
Vista 64
Intel Core2 duo 3.0 GHz
4GB ram
ATI RADEON 4850
onboard sound
500GB 7200RPM hard drive

Let me know if you need to see a DXDiag or if there's an errorlog file i can post.

Thanks in advance.
Reply Quote
Happens to me too randomly while playing with friends against AI and once in single player. PC just shuts down and reboots. My cpu is overclocked but watercooled and my cards have aftermarket arctic coolers on them and all my temps are respectable.

System
i7 975 @ 4.16GHz
2x HIS 5970 OC to 900/1200
Auzentech HD SoundCard
Ultra X3 1600W PSU
3x 2GB Perfect Storm Ram 1800MHz

My PC plays every game out there and stress tests no sweat! I have run OCCT for 5Hours no problems. Weird stuff unless I'm getting random power surges but why would it only affect this game? CPU & GPU temps hit the same in other games with no problems.
Tell me if and where I should send a dxdiag report if needed?
Reply Quote
ur cpu is auto-rebooting because of a windows feature

right click My Computer -> Advanced -> Startup and Recovery settings (may vary depending on ur windows version)

UNcheck auto reboot
next time it does it u will get a bsod and u can look up the error code.