StarCraft® II

StarCraft II 1.5.0 patch

(Locked)

Support Forum Agent
Posts: 31,970
http://us.battle.net/sc2/en/blog/6821783/What_You_Need_To_Know_About_Patching_150-7_26_2012#comments

(Here's the text of the blog post linked above minus mentioned links )

StarCraft II patch 1.5.0 is on the horizon and it’s bringing a number of changes to your StarCraft II Battle.net experience, including an entirely new custom game experience with Arcade, tons of new additions and improvements to the StarCraft II Editor, and streaming downloads to make patching even faster.

We’ll provide a more detailed guide about what’s in the patch, including the Arcade, soon. In the meantime, since all these big changes are coming, we wanted to provide a little guidance so everyone is prepared and able to get into the game quickly!

Getting the Patch

The patching process for patch 1.5.0 will be a bit different from previous StarCraft II patches, and will occur in two stages. First, to prepare your copy of StarCraft II to ‘migrate’ over to the new streaming version of the client, a small tools patch will need to be downloaded and applied.

[Tools Patch Screenshot]

Once it’s installed, a box will appear asking you to migrate your build of StarCraft II to a version that will support streaming. This is big news, because once your client is updated to support streaming, you’ll no longer have to wait for an entire patch to install before you can start playing.

[Optimization Screenshot]

Once you click ‘Begin’, the new StarCraft II streaming launcher will appear and ask you to wait while it reconfigures game files. That’s a process that will take anywhere from a few minutes to an hour or so, but whatever the wait is, it’s important to stick it out and not cancel the process, since that can cause issues with patch installation.

[Reconfiguring game files Screenshot]

Then, once your game client migration is done, Patch 1.5.0 will begin downloading and being applied simultaneously. If you’ve already played Diablo III or World of Warcraft, then you’re probably already familiar with how this looks - there will be a progress bar at the bottom of the patching window that lets you know when enough data has been downloaded to allow you to play the game.

[Setup - Playable - Optimal Screenshot]

Please keep in mind that if the progress bar isn’t full when you begin playing, then that means that the patch hasn’t been fully applied and there may be some gameplay hiccups. That’s normal, and you can wait for the progress bar to fill completely if you’re concerned about performance. If you’ve generally experienced no issues downloading StarCraft II patches through the launcher in the past, or if you’ve played the Arcade Beta, then this process should go well.

Patching Smoothly

There are some steps you can take before you start download the patch to help make sure that patching proceeds without any issues. It’s important to make sure that your computer is configured to allow for downloads or changes to existing programs. Your firewall, antivirus, security programs, and/or router may be blocking downloads, and it might be necessary to ensure that they’re configured to allow downloads. Also, your operating system and your antivirus or other security programs may try to protect StarCraft II from changes. It might be necessary to temporarily disable or alter settings to allow these changes. It’s also important to make sure that you’re configured to patch properly, since, with the advent of streaming patches, standalone patches will no longer be available.

These links cover some of the details regarding how to prepare your computer for patching, as well as trouble-shooting steps for common issues:


As always, if you’re still experiencing issues, you can get in touch with Technical Support.

Replays

Older, nonessential patch data is included in the tail end of the streaming patch update. That’s a good thing because you can start playing before the patch is finished, but it also means that if you do, then when you try to load a replay from an older version, your copy of StarCraft II will now automatically perform a one time stream of that older patch data. Don’t panic! Once you’ve streamed in that version, you won’t have to do it again when you load another replay from that same version. It’s also worth mentioning that if you allow your copy of StarCraft II to patch completely then the old patch information will already be installed, and the streaming dialogue won’t appear at all.

[Replay preparation Screenshot]

Shame-free Self Promotion

The new Arcade will allow game creators to promote their work in entirely new and powerful ways. When browsing the Arcade, each game will have a Game Info screen that includes a description of the game with screenshots, instructions, patch notes, reviews, and more. If you are a game maker and have published custom games to Battle.net, it’s a very good idea to gather information and screenshots to be prepared to tune up your map so that it can take advantage of all the new features of Arcade, and get the audience it deserves. Also, if you haven’t already participated in the Arcade Beta and published your map there, there’s no time like the present to jump in and familiarize yourself with the coming changes.

Stay tuned, as more information will be coming about the new features in 1.5.0 when the patch is released. Until then, GL HF and we’ll see you on Battle.net!
Edited by Velnrak on 11/12/2012 10:20 AM PST
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 25,942
1.5 Patch Issues

If you're playing on a Mac, please try these troubleshooting steps first.

Our Mac specialists have compiled a list of fixes in the Mac Technical Support forum.

These are some of the common PC issues we've seen so far:

Updating Setup Files
Optimization Issues
Language Pack Required
Performance, Frame Rate, and FPS Issues
fmodex files missing
________________________________________________
Technical Support
<a href="http://us.battle.net/support
'Constant change is here to stay.'
Edited by Velnrak on 11/12/2012 10:21 AM PST
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 25,942
Updating Setup Files

If it is hanging on "Updating Setup Files...", these steps may help:

1) Enable the Secondary Logon Service

2) Run the Downloader in Compatibliity Mode for Windows XP (Service Pack 3):

  • Open the StarCraft II folder
  • Right-click on the sc2-x.x.x.x-1.5.0.22342-enUS-Downloader.exe file, and go to Properties
  • Click on the Compatibility tab
  • Check "Run this program in compatiblity mode for:" and make sure Windows XP (Service Pack 3) is selected.
  • Click OK.

________________________________________________
Technical Support
<a href="http://us.battle.net/support
'Constant change is here to stay.'
Edited by Velnrak on 11/12/2012 10:23 AM PST
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 25,942
Optimization Issues

If it is hanging on Optimization, and not moving, these steps may help:

1) Run as administrator — right-click on the StarCraft II shortcut, and "Run as administrator".

2) Run StarCraft II in Administrator Mode.

3) Run StarCraft II on another User Account in Windows.

If this is not a Windows permissions issue, then another program may be preventing the optimization process from moving forward. If you've already tried configuring your firewall or antivirus or security program, or even tried disabling it, you'll want to temporarily uninstall it. Many antivirus and security programs have a Removal tool or utility. Then try running StarCraft II to patch. Please be sure to reinstall the antivirus or security program immediately afterwards. Oftentimes, just the process of reinstalling an antivirus or security program can allow StarCraft II to fully patch.

Update: 8/14/2012
If you're having issues migrating, or patching from 1.4.4 to 1.5.0, you can use the downloads below (If you've already patched to 1.5.0, these will not help.):

http://dist.blizzard.com.edgesuite.net/sc2-pod-retail/migration/sc2-1.5.0-enUS-Win-Migration.zip
http://attdist.blizzard.com/sc2-pod-retail/migration/sc2-1.5.0-enUS-Win-Migration.zip
http://llnw.blizzard.com/sc2-pod-retail/migration/sc2-1.5.0-enUS-Win-Migration.zip

________________________________________________
Technical Support
<a href="http://us.battle.net/support
'Constant change is here to stay.'
Edited by Velnrak on 11/12/2012 10:28 AM PST
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 25,942
Language Pack Required

If you are receiving the error, “an authorized language pack is required”, please try these steps.
________________________________________________
Technical Support
<a href="http://us.battle.net/support
'Constant change is here to stay.'
Edited by Velnrak on 11/12/2012 10:30 AM PST
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 25,942
Performance, Frame Rate, and FPS Issues

Please try these steps first.
________________________________________________
Technical Support
<a href="http://us.battle.net/support
'Constant change is here to stay.'
Edited by Velnrak on 11/12/2012 10:31 AM PST
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 25,942
fmodex files missing

If you are receiving the error, "fmodex_4_28_08.dll is missing", or "fmodex_4_28_09.dll is missing", try these steps:

1) Uninstall StarCraft II
2) Delete the Battle.net folder from C:\ProgramData
(If you can't see the ProgramData folder, go into Folder Options (or Organize > Folder and search options), and choose "Show hidden files, folders, and drives".)
________________________________________________
Technical Support
<a href="http://us.battle.net/support
'Constant change is here to stay.'
Edited by Velnrak on 11/12/2012 10:33 AM PST
This topic is locked.

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)
Submit Cancel

Reported!

[Close]