StarCraft® II

StarCraft 2 (Not Responding)

Posts: 6
Regarding my MacBook Pro Mountain Lion OSX StarCraft II 1.5 patch update, I uninstalled the entire game, resinstalled it and downloaded the patch again and this time instead of getting SC2Switcher in the dock, I just get SC2 (Not Responding) and Blizzard Launcher pops up real quick and nothing happens, it just stays in my dock and nothing launches. Here are my specs. I would appreciate any help to get this running properly, sucks pretty bad not being able to play.

Hardware Overview:

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro3,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 4 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 800 MHz
Boot ROM Version: MBP31.0070.B07
SMC Version (system): 1.16f11
Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-001B639D3C1D
Sudden Motion Sensor:
State: Enabled

NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT:

Chipset Model: GeForce 8600M GT
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x0407
Revision ID: 0x00a1
ROM Revision: 3175
Displays:
Color LCD:
Display Type: LCD
Resolution: 1440 x 900
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Built-In: Yes

System Software Overview:

System Version: OS X 10.8 (12A269)
Kernel Version: Darwin 12.0.0
Boot Volume: MacBook Pro
Boot Mode: Normal
Secure Virtual Memory: Enabled
Time since boot: 39 minutes
Reply Quote
Posts: 6
After selecting the StarCraftII icon to launch the game in the Application folder Blizzard Launcher launches for a second then SC2 icon stays in dock (Application: Not Responding)
Edited by illDeity on 8/1/2012 2:49 AM PDT
Reply Quote
Posts: 6
After I Force Quit the hanging SC2 icon in the dock, it transforms into SC2Switcher with a window that says "StarCraft II Unable to run StarCraft II. Required files are missing. Please reinstall StarCraft II."

Back to square one...any ideas on how I can fix this or anything I can do to get you guys to help resolve my situation. Thanks in advance!
Reply Quote
Posts: 11
I've got the exact same problem you described. Hopefully there's a fix soon, but I have no ideas of what we could do.
Reply Quote
Posts: 5
I Have the same problem. -_- i was so ready for the new 1.5 Patch ):
Reply Quote
Posts: 11
08/01/2012 07:14 AMPosted by Skyline
I Have the same problem. -_- i was so ready for the new 1.5 Patch ):

Ditto. I want to support the modding community more, and this would have made it way easier. I normally just ladder, but I was willing to put aside an afternoon to try out as much custom stuff as I can manage. Oh well. Hopefully it's fixed soon.
Reply Quote
Posts: 48
Do you guys get missing files and are told to reinstall?
Reply Quote
Posts: 11
08/01/2012 07:58 AMPosted by MasterFramer
Do you guys get missing files and are told to reinstall?


That's exactly what I was told, and I reinstalled. Got the same error message.
Reply Quote
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 14,784
Try this.

    1. First of all, make sure your launcher.db file states (case-sensitive)
    enUS
    If it does not, please change it and save the file.
    2. Force kill any SC2, Agent or Blizzard Launcher processes.
    3. Hold down the Option (Alt) key and select Library from the Go menu.
    4. Navigate to ~/Library/Application Support/Blizzard and move the StarCraft II folder to the Desktop.
Reply Quote
Posts: 1
This works, thank you!
Reply Quote
Posts: 15
Sorry, but what's the go menu?
Reply Quote
Posts: 6
When I goto Blizzard folder there is no StarCraft II folder, I even did a clean uninstall and reinstall...
Reply Quote
Posts: 1
This work around didn't work for me at all. :( I'm still getting the same error message: "Unable to run Starcraft II. Required Files are missing." Followed by this error report:

Process: SC2 [374]
Path: /Applications/StarCraft II/*/SC2.app/Contents/MacOS/SC2
Identifier: com.blizzard.starcraft2
Version: 1.4.3 [21029] (21029)
Code Type: X86 (Native)
Parent Process: launchd [138]
User ID: 502

Date/Time: 2012-08-02 10:51:14.547 -0400
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.8 (12A269)
Report Version: 10

Interval Since Last Report: 234328 sec
Crashes Since Last Report: 36
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report: 5
Anonymous UUID: 54C8740A-B461-44FC-A80C-F109157C5105

Crashed Thread: 0

Exception Type: EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP)
Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000

Application Specific Information:
dyld: launch, loading dependent libraries

Dyld Error Message:
Library not loaded: @executable_path/../../../../../Support/libfmodex.4.28.08.dylib
Referenced from: /Applications/StarCraft II/*/SC2.app/Contents/MacOS/SC2
Reason: image not found

Binary Images:
0x1000 - 0x5239ffb +com.blizzard.starcraft2 (1.4.3 [21029] - 21029) <DAF3A7D5-21D5-3443-75E0-FF9A48FF8DB5> /Applications/StarCraft II/*/SC2.app/Contents/MacOS/SC2
0x8fef3000 - 0x8ff25e57 dyld (210.2.3) <23516BE4-29BE-350C-91C9-F36E7999F0F1> /usr/lib/dyld
0x901ef000 - 0x90256ff7 com.apple.framework.IOKit (2.0 - 755.9.7) <CB976A7C-2601-3054-BC41-C3AD6896327C> /System/Library/Frameworks/IOKit.framework/Versions/A/IOKit
0x91a28000 - 0x91ca4ff7 com.apple.QuickTime (7.7.1 - 2599) <C1EAA16D-C51E-3A85-B114-6C7DDCEC864C> /System/Library/Frameworks/QuickTime.framework/Versions/A/QuickTime
0x929de000 - 0x929defff com.apple.Cocoa (6.7 - 19) <354094F0-F36B-36F9-BF5F-FD60590FBEB9> /System/Library/Frameworks/Cocoa.framework/Versions/A/Cocoa
0x9560e000 - 0x95615ffe com.apple.agl (3.2.1 - AGL-3.2.1) <8E0411D3-19F7-30E1-92A2-337F7F0EBCDA> /System/Library/Frameworks/AGL.framework/Versions/A/AGL
0x987aa000 - 0x987aafff com.apple.Carbon (154 - 155) <604ADD9D-5835-3294-842E-3A4AEBCCB548> /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Versions/A/Carbon
0x99804000 - 0x99812fff com.apple.opengl (1.8.5 - 1.8.5) <AA14FBC0-8AF3-3CCB-A390-C8F9AE81E1E9> /System/Library/Frameworks/OpenGL.framework/Versions/A/OpenGL

Model: MacBookPro8,2, BootROM MBP81.0047.B27, 4 processors, Intel Core i7, 2.2 GHz, 4 GB, SMC 1.69f3
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Built-In, 384 MB
Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 6750M, AMD Radeon HD 6750M, PCIe, 512 MB
Memory Module: BANK 0/DIMM0, 2 GB, DDR3, 1333 MHz, 0x80AD, 0x484D54333235533643465238432D48392020
Memory Module: BANK 1/DIMM0, 2 GB, DDR3, 1333 MHz, 0x80AD, 0x484D54333235533643465238432D48392020
AirPort: spairport_wireless_card_type_airport_extreme (0x14E4, 0xD6), Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (5.106.98.81.20)
Bluetooth: Version 4.0.9f8 10405, 2 service, 18 devices, 1 incoming serial ports
Network Service: Wi-Fi, AirPort, en1
Serial ATA Device: ST9500325ASG, 500.11 GB
Serial ATA Device: HL-DT-ST DVDRW GS31N
USB Device: FaceTime HD Camera (Built-in), apple_vendor_id, 0x8509, 0xfa200000 / 3
USB Device: hub_device, 0x0424 (SMSC), 0x2513, 0xfa100000 / 2
USB Device: Apple Internal Keyboard / Trackpad, apple_vendor_id, 0x0252, 0xfa120000 / 5
USB Device: BRCM2070 Hub, 0x0a5c (Broadcom Corp.), 0x4500, 0xfa110000 / 4
USB Device: Bluetooth USB Host Controller, apple_vendor_id, 0x821a, 0xfa113000 / 7
USB Device: hub_device, 0x0424 (SMSC), 0x2513, 0xfd100000 / 2
USB Device: IR Receiver, apple_vendor_id, 0x8242, 0xfd110000 / 3
Reply Quote
Posts: 2
OMG this finally worked for me :)
The couldn't find that stupid GO menu until you said where it is !!! thank you
Reply Quote
Posts: 6
So I figured it out, follow what Mhorbid and Machkhan said about going into the Go menu and navigating to ~/Library/Application Support/Blizzard but instead of moving that entire file to desktop, I just deleted the Variables.txt and relaunched SC2 and it worked!!!
Reply Quote
Posts: 1
This worked beautifully! Thank you!
Reply Quote
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 14,784
08/02/2012 07:54 AMPosted by Blackbird
This work around didn't work for me at all. :( I'm still getting the same error message: "Unable to run Starcraft II. Required Files are missing." Followed by this error report:

This means you're not going into the Library.

Try this, I added pictures to be a bit more descriptive:

1. Open Finder.
2. Hold down the Option (Alt) key and select Library from the Go menu on the menubar.
Note: This ensures that you are going into the User Library and not the System Library. Your Go menu should look like this: http://i49.tinypic.com/nfjvyw.png
3. Navigate to ~/Library/Application Support/Blizzard/StarCraft II
4. Delete or move the Variables.txt file folder to the Desktop.
5. Launch StarCraft II.
Reply Quote
Posts: 3
Do I really need to have the folder in my desktop?? Cause i like to have it clean... hope you guys can fix this
Reply Quote
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 14,784
08/03/2012 02:00 PMPosted by Avenger
Do I really need to have the folder in my desktop?? Cause i like to have it clean... hope you guys can fix this

It should only be the variables.txt file. You can choose to throw it away too, but some users might want to keep it to retain some of their settings when the issue is fixed.
Reply Quote

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)

Reported!

[Close]