StarCraft® II

Possible CPU bottleneck?

Hello all,

I've been having this problem ever since I started playing SC2, which was about 2 years ago. That problem is bad graphics. After I first bought SC2, I upgraded to an HD 5670 so I would be able to see better visuals and run the game at higher settings while playing. Quite sadly I was wrong. I was able to run the game on medium-high settings with AA on in the Catalyst Control Center with around 30-40 FPS, not a big improvement over my earlier graphics card. I was still getting jagged edgies, slow framerates and choppy performance. Due to this inconvenience, I stopped playing. About a year later, I picked up a Radeon HD 6850 1GB with a 256-bit Interface to better improve my visuals. I was happy to discover that my visuals had beengreatlyimproved, and that I was now able to run more modern games such as BF3 and Civ 5. However, I did notice one detail that bugs me to this day - Jagged edges. Even though the FPS spiked up even with the amplification of the graphics settings, I was still seeing tiny jaggies that bugged the living **** out of me. Sadly for me, this still deterred me from playing. I couldn't wrap my mind around this, however, as an upgrade from a 5670 to a 6850 is a sizeable leap in technology, and even with that I was still seeing some jaggies. Not as bad as before, but still seeing some. Then the thought occurred to me - my CPU. This had to be the problem. I had been running the pre-installed AMD Phenom II 830 @2.80GHz since I first picked up this PC, and expected it to run well. Unfortunately, this is a rather older and slower CPU, even for FPS games, and now I'm beginning to wonder if this is my problem - a CPU bottleneck. So, I reach out to everyone here at these forums with this question - is my CPU bottlenecking my GPU, preventing it from using it's full potential? All my software, BIOS, and graphics APIs are up-to-date, and the GPU is brand-spanking new, and I'm still seeing some jaggies as well as