StarCraft® II

Tauren Space Marines

OK, I found the Tauren Marines in the data and can put them in on the map, what I want to do is make them trainable from barracks, I know that you have to make a button for it with one of the free spaces, could somebody explain how? I'm new to the editor so if it could be really intricate it would be very appreciated.
Reply Quote
Hi there, I’m pretty sure there are tutorials about such things, but I wanted to do it for fun and see if I can get it working. Anyway, here is what I did in very small details ;)

1: I first made a new map, you got yours. I made sure to have the campaign dependency and the multiplayer dependency as well to make sure everything is normal, and placed the liberty one at the bottom.

2: Placed a barrack. We will use it.

3.1: Open the data. As you said, we want a button for our Tauren Marine. You could go in the Button tab, search for “train” you will get a couple “Train <unit>”. You can duplicate one of them, I’ll duplicate the “Train Marine”. There is a pop-up showing what we want to duplicate. These are the things linked to the button. It’s asking you if you want to duplicate those things as well. No. We will keep the original things. So just don’t check anything except the Train Marine (checked by default).

3.2: From there, you can change the name of the button that is now “Train Marine Copy”. You could rename it to something like “Train Tauren Marine”. Press suggest. The ID is usefull in some other places such as the Actors. But we won’t need to go there. Having a good ID name prevent you from being lost. The suggest button is generally enough precise.

3.3: On the right side, you have a couple things you could change. You can change the icon, the hotkey, tooltips, etc.