StarCraft® II

I'm a noob here, I could use a little help

I just started playing Starcraft, and I think its tons of fun. That being said, so far I've only had fun while losing. I've lost almost every single game I've played, with the two exceptions being vs. a DC and someone who was brand new and didn't do the tutorial. I'd like to have a chance at having fun while winning.

I've been looking up a lot of strategies and guides, and I understand the basics of what the units are and what they do, and what buildings do for me. My biggest issue is that I don't know when to get certain buildings, or research upgrades, and which upgrades to research, etc.

Also, my absolute biggest problem, is that I am always extremely outnumbered and have no clue how to deal with it. I've learned that protoss units are more expensive, and take up 2 supply instead of 1, so my army is always half the size (at best) than my opponents, and they obliterate me. Another huge issue is that my units are usually a lot slower than my opponent, and they can just kite my soldiers, kill all of my drones, and get out completely unscathed. This happens to me a lot vs. Terran who use reapers.

I try to get Colossus when I'm against someone building a big amount of weaker units, like marines/zerglings/zealots. I go for stalkers if the enemy is building flying units or not a ton of soldiers. I don't know if these are even good strategies, they haven't been seeming to work for me so I guess not. I also don't know how to position my units so that my zealots are tanking, or how to keep everything attacking the right things. It's chaos when I actually get into a battle, and nothing is really under my control.

So I guess that's basically what I need help with. I've been searching for videos, guides, forums, etc., and will continue to search, for answers, but I'd really appreciate some help here :P.
Reply Quote