StarCraft® II

Starcraft 2 Races and Musical Instruments

I've noticed that a correlation can be made between the Starcraft 2 races and three very different musical instruments. Of course these are generalizations, but one has to make them in order to be able to compare such things. I'm a musician that plays bass, guitar and keyboard so I have sufficient knowledge of music to be able to make the comparison. I'm also a gold level Terran player that has mingled in the other two races and I find all of the races to be equally difficult in completely different ways contrary to popular opinion. Interestingly, I find this to be true of the musical instruments as well.

Protoss - (Piano): Becoming proficient at Protoss like the piano requires sufficient knowledge of strategy/music and this will make you progress faster in becoming proficient in this race/instrument. Mechanics/physical skill are less important when playing this race/instrument. Piano requires you to play the bass and treble simultaneously, while in Protoss' case it is warping units and producing them out of buildings at the same time. Protoss more than the other two races places extra importance on having the right build/strategy just like a pianist's knowledge of music can make a big difference in the quality of songs that are produced.

Terran - (Guitar): Terran and the guitar are both balanced in terms of knowledge of strategy/music and mechanics/physical skill. One needs to become at least decent at mechanics/skill if they wish to even play the guitar or terran at all, but it isn't an overriding factor. Knowledge of strategy/music does have a moderate level of importance in determining the outcome of battles and the quality of songs. Terran and the guitar are a nice middle ground between the high musical knowledge/strategy requirement to become strong at protoss/piano and the high mechanics/physical skill requirement to become strong at zerg/drums.