StarCraft® II

Probe Count

Hey guys I'm new to starcraft so I don't really understand when to stop making drones. So what I think I'm supposed to do is to keep making drones with your main so when you go for your natural expo you can have it fully saturated immediately. After getting my first expo down do I make probes from that expo for the next expo's saturation and keep making probes from my natural just enough to fully saturate it again or do I stop making probes from my natural?
Reply Quote
When you're still new, the best advice is to never stop making Probes until you get up to around 60-80 of them.

Until you get used to judging it, just keep making them from all your bases and transfer workers as needed, you'll eventually get a handle on the most efficient way of transferring just from experience.
Reply Quote
16 per base is best, that will be 2 lines of probes when you select them. Keep making more before you expand and transfer the exess ones over and you will saturate your new base much faster.
Reply Quote
Hylozoist has the right of it.

In addition, as a ROUGH guideline:

- 16 probes mining minerals is a minimum number you want to keep in mind for any number of bases up to 4.
- 3 probes in each gas, always. Except for VERY few specific maps with geysers that are further away from a Nexus - although those maps may not be there anymore... So, don't worry about it and stick to 3 per gas geyser.
- 30 probes (6 in gas) FULLY saturates 1 base and is optimal for 1 base play with tech.
- 21 probes (3 in gas) saturates a mineral line with 16 on minerals, and 1 scouting probe for a 4 gate
- 60 probes fully saturates 2 base play/all-in with tech. It is also good for 3 base play in PvP right before lategame stages, after which you want between 70-75 probes
- 75 probes = maximum income from 3 bases fully mining minerals and gas from all geysers and patches. Anything higher is too much.
Reply Quote
3 Probes in each Gas.