StarCraft® II

Any Protoss taskbar skins out there?

Posts: 2
So I've been looking for the better part of a week for a skin to set as my taskbar, yet I can't seem to find ANYTHING. So, I was wondering if you, my fellow Protoss players, had any/know where I can find one. It's really getting quite annoying, I've changed my start button, background, cursor, sounds, login screen, and desktop icons. All that's left in my Protoss desktop remake is the taskbar. My friend successfully completed his Zerg desktop, taskbar and all, so now I must outshine him with the might of the Protoss. So please, help.
Reply Quote
Posts: 16,117
Dumb question:

How did you change your Start button??

o_O

I also have a Protoss themed Windows 7, with Protoss cursor, Protoss sounds and Protoss backgrounds, but like you I don't have anything beyond a "gold-ish" colored window border and taskbar, but my Windows Start Button is still Vanilla.

I'd appreciate it so much if you could tell me how to change my Start button ♥
Reply Quote
Posts: 2,108
I used to change the text on the start button to say something besides "start" in windows xp. It involved using a hex editor on explorer.exe to alter the text from "start" to some other 5 letter word.

Some searching says the hack for windows 7 is similar.

You have to edit explorer.exe and change the bmp files for 6801.bmp, 6805.bmp, and 6809.bmp

I believe these are the size of the bmp files
6806 - 66 x 198
6807 - 81 x 243
6808 - 106 x 318

Here's instructions with a tool called Restorator to change it.
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/23024-start-menu-button-change.html

And my only warning zamara is that if you plan to attempt this make sure you make a backup copy of explorer.exe before attempting this.
If you screw it up to the point where explorer won't launch you can restore the original file using a live cd like knoppix
http://knoppix.net/
Edited by wraithcube on 1/24/2013 8:01 AM PST
Reply Quote
Posts: 2
Start Button Editor: http://www.thewindowsclub.com/windows-7-start-button-changer-released
Start Button: http://windows7themes.net/starcraft-2-windows-7-theme-protoss-terran-zerg-start-buttons.html

Just download those two files, run the start button changer, and follow the instructions that are on the website
Reply Quote
Posts: 16,117
Hey thanks man, but the Protoss button one's download does not work. Any alternative?
Reply Quote
Posts: 2,108
01/24/2013 12:00 PMPosted by Zamara
Hey thanks man, but the Protoss button one's download does not work. Any alternative?


So it kept asking me to download the win7 theme installer or something. Just for you I downloaded it and ran it in a virtual machine. It did download the zip file. Not sure if you can trust the exe files or not, but the images are all in there.

Here's the zip file direct download off my home server:
Edit: since deleted from server

Let me know when you've downloaded it as I'll probably remove the link afterwards. (also anyone else that wants it in the meantime). Just comcast doesn't appreciate me hosting files for download :D
Edited by wraithcube on 1/25/2013 8:54 PM PST
Reply Quote
Posts: 3,501
I'm a little nervous about hacking Win8 to get a Protoss start button (and I certainly can't do tha tto my work laptop!), but now you're making me really want a Protoss theme or at least a good wallpaper. Know of any publicly available?
Reply Quote
Posts: 2,108
Deviant art usually has some good stuff for wall papers and such
http://browse.deviantart.com/?q=protoss+wallpaper&offset=192
Reply Quote
Posts: 3,501
Thanks! I'll check it out.
Reply Quote
Posts: 1,482
Try going to the Games, Entertainment, and Technology Forums. You might find some more technologically informed people there who might know about changing the taskbar.
Reply Quote
Posts: 16,117
01/25/2013 10:24 AMPosted by wraithcube
http://puppysl.kicks-@55.org/test/starcraft2decupdate.zip
I tried it and it could not find it...

I replaced @55 with donkey. I tried changing the - to a .

Nothing is working. Are you able to use something like rapidshare or anything like it?

Btw, many thanks ♥
Reply Quote
Posts: 2,108
Hahaha.
Umm word filter. Like the movie http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1250777/

home server is just easier and I don't have a rapidshare account

Edit: watch as I get temp banned for trying to break the word filter to link my server lol
Edited by wraithcube on 1/25/2013 8:55 PM PST
Reply Quote
Posts: 16,117
Hey wraith, thanks for the update - you can delete the secondary link now ♥

+1

To understand the original one, replace wraithcube's "donkey" with the end part of "badass".
Edited by Zamara on 1/25/2013 8:13 PM PST
Reply Quote

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)
Submit Cancel

Reported!

[Close]