Updating Blizzard Launcher Stuck At 70%

(Locked)

Posts: 143
Hey, I'm quite pissed that the launcher won't work. I have tried deleting the BNET folder as well as update folder in the SC2 folder. I have changed to selective start up and still no results. This also affect Diablo 3, so I can't play any blizzard games. How do I get the games back up running again? This has never happened before.

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 2/1/2013, 23:56:19
Machine name: GAME
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.120830-0333)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: BIOSTAR Group
System Model: TA970XE
BIOS: BIOS Date: 09/05/12 18:09:54 Ver: 04.06.04
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor (6 CPUs), ~3.7GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8184MB RAM
Page File: 2272MB used, 14094MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 2: No problems found.
Sound Tab 3: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D: 0/4 (retail)
DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce GTX 560
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1201&SUBSYS_14603842&REV_A1
Display Memory: 4050 MB
Dedicated Memory: 978 MB
Shared Memory: 3071 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: S220HQL
Monitor Id: ACR0281
Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (60.000Hz)
Output Type: DVI
Driver Name: nvd3dumx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvd3dum,nvwgf2um,nvwgf2um
Driver File Version: 9.18.0013.1090 (English)
Driver Version: 9.18.13.1090
DDI Version: 11
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 12/29/2012 05:34:47, 18054312 bytes
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-5141-11CF-B05F-6D341CC2C435}
Vendor ID: 0x10DE
Device ID: 0x1201
SubSys ID: 0x14603842
Revision ID: 0x00A1
D3D9 Overlay: Supported
DXVA-HD: Supported
DDraw Status: Enabled
D3D Status: Enabled
AGP Status: Enabled

-------------
Sound Devices
-------------
Description: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: Yes
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0892&SUBSYS_15658224&REV_1003
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: RTKVHD64.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.6559 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
Date and Size: 1/31/2012 18:14:04, 4739304 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0x0
Min/Max Sample Rate: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

Description: Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Playback: No
Default Voice Playback: No
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0892&SUBSYS_15658224&REV_1003
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: RTKVHD64.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.6559 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
Date and Size: 1/31/2012 18:14:04, 4739304 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0x0
Min/Max Sample Rate: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

Description: Realtek Digital Output(RCA) (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Playback: No
Default Voice Playback: No
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0892&SUBSYS_15658224&REV_1003
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 100
Type: WDM
Driver Name: RTKVHD64.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.6559 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: n/a
Date and Size: 1/31/2012 18:14:04, 4739304 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0x0
Min/Max Sample Rate: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 0, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

---------------------
Sound Capture Devices
---------------------
Description: Microphone (5- USB Microphone)
Default Sound Capture: Yes
Default Voice Capture: Yes
Driver Name: USBAUDIO.sys
Driver Version: 6.01.7601.17514 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 11/20/2010 22:23:47, 109696 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x0
Format Flags: 0x0

Description: Microphone (Realtek High Definition Audio)
Default Sound Capture: No
Default Voice Capture: No
Driver Name: RTKVHD64.sys
Driver Version: 6.00.0001.6559 (English)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Date and Size: 1/31/2012 18:14:04, 4739304 bytes
Cap Flags: 0x0
Format Flags: 0x0

-------------------
DirectInput Devices
-------------------
Device Name: Mouse
Attached: 1
Controller ID: n/a
Vendor/Product ID: n/a
FF Driver: n/a

Device Name: Keyboard
Attached: 1
Controller ID: n/a
Vendor/Product ID: n/a
FF Driver: n/a

Device Name: Gaming Mouse G400
Attached: 1
Controller ID: 0x0
Vendor/Product ID: 0x046D, 0xC245
FF Driver: n/a

Device Name: Logitech USB Keyboard
Attached: 1
Controller ID: 0x0
Vendor/Product ID: 0x046D, 0xC30A
FF Driver: n/a

Device Name: Logitech USB Keyboard
Attached: 1
Controller ID: 0x0
Vendor/Product ID: 0x046D, 0xC30A
FF Driver: n/a

Poll w/ Interrupt: No

-----------
USB Devices
-----------
+ USB Root Hub
| Vendor/Product ID: 0x1002, 0x4399
| Matching Device ID: usb\root_hub
| Service: usbhub

----------------
Gameport Devices
----------------

------------
PS/2 Devices
------------
+ HID Keyboard Device
| Vendor/Product ID: 0x046D, 0xC30A
| Matching Device ID: hid_device_system_keyboard
| Service: kbdhid
|
+ Terminal Server Keyboard Driver
| Matching Device ID: root\rdp_kbd
| Upper Filters: kbdclass
| Service: TermDD
|
+ HID-compliant mouse
| Vendor/Product ID: 0x046D, 0xC245
| Matching Device ID: hid_device_system_mouse
| Service: mouhid
|
+ HID-compliant mouse
| Vendor/Product ID: 0x046D, 0xC30A
| Matching Device ID: hid_device_system_mouse
| Service: mouhid
|
+ Terminal Server Mouse Driver
| Matching Device ID: root\rdp_mou
| Upper Filters: mouclass
| Service: TermDD

------------------------
Disk & DVD/CD-ROM Drives
------------------------
Drive: C:
Free Space: 12.4 GB
Total Space: 60.8 GB
File System: NTFS
Model: M4-CT064M4SSD2 ATA Device

Drive: D:
Free Space: 35.6 GB
Total Space: 238.5 GB
File System: NTFS
Model: WDC WD5000AAKS-00V1A0 ATA Device

Drive: F:
Free Space: 134.1 GB
Total Space: 238.3 GB
File System: NTFS
Model: WDC WD5000AAKS-00V1A0 ATA Device

Drive: E:
Model: ASUS DVD-E818A3T ATA Device
Driver: c:\windows\system32\drivers\cdrom.sys, 6.01.7601.17514 (English), , 0 bytes

--------------
System Devices
--------------

Name: Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller

Name: ATI I/O Communications Processor SMBus Controller

Name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560

Name: ATI I/O Communications Processor PCI Bus Controller
Edited by Velnrak on 2/4/2013 10:04 AM PST
Posts: 10
I'm having the same problem and have tried many of the suggested fixes. None are working. The time and energy I have to spend to fix it is not worth it so I'm playing other games while I wait for a patch or something that will fix it without me having to pick up my PC and turn it upside down to figure it out.

UPDATE: I had to create another Admin account in Windows and then it worked. Not sure why my other account got jacked up but I had trouble connecting with other games. Every conceivable bit of software that might be suspected of blocking was uninstalled. Making another Admin account in Windows was the only fix that worked.
Edited by Gaff on 2/2/2013 7:04 PM PST
Posts: 1,811
wow this job must suck
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 34,568
UPDATE: I had to create another Admin account in Windows and then it worked. Not sure why my other account got jacked up but I had trouble connecting with other games. Every conceivable bit of software that might be suspected of blocking was uninstalled. Making another Admin account in Windows was the only fix that worked.

VictorBravo, please let us know if Gaff's advice helped. We have seen many cases where using another User Account in Windows does help.

Otherwise, we'll want to look into what software may be possibly blocking the Launcher and patching process.
________________________________________________
Monday - Friday, 8 am - 5 pm PST
Pelinti
Posts: 10
02/03/2013 01:38 PMPosted by Raiz
wow this job must suck


Do you mean Technical Support Analysts? It takes a lot of skill and patience to do it and many companies don't pay very well for it. And if you work for a company that isn't doing so well, then they might decide to get foreign people to do that work while you go unemployed. So yeah, it can suck.
Posts: 143
I finally got it to work by reopening the updater over 100 times (literally). Eventually it just worked for some odd reason...
Posts: 1
Gaff's advice worked for me.
Posts: 35
I was able to get around this issue by manually downloading the updater from another thread i found on support I cant find it again unfortunately, but if you keep searching its here somewhere. You can download it as a zip and just extract it into your blizzard folder.
Posts: 8
I have the same problem!! Stuck at 70%!!!

1. Left it running for over 2 hours now. It's moving nowhere.
2. Tried a different account. Didn't work.
3. Tried running Starcraft 2 in administrator mode. Didn't work.
4. Tried to re-run the Starcraft 2 installer I downloaded from the BlizzStore to install Starcraft 2 (just got it yesterday). Here's the weird thing, it ALSO gets stuck at 70% during the launcher updater.
5. Tried a system restore to the LAST known point of when I was able to log into Starcraft 2. Didn't work either!!
Posts: 35
Do my fix it's 100%, just have to find the thread that has the blizzard poster with the link to the new updater zip.
Posts: 8
Jaywalk, that doesn't really narrow it down. What key words should I be searching in the forum search tool to find this thread?

1. I've switched internet connection to different locations. I'm on a 25 Mb/s line and I still stuck at 70%
2. I've UNINSTALLED SC2 entirely. Re-downloaded the installer on the Blizzard Store. Now it's just stuck on "Checking for updates..." and not moving at all. Stuck at 0%.
Edited by Timmy on 3/13/2013 7:39 AM PDT
Posts: 8
I've now follow-up the steps recommended by other threads.

1. Deleted my entire Battle.net and Starcraft 2 folder. Then attempted to use the installer. Still stuck on "Checking for updates" and stuck at 0%.
2. I've created additional user logins. Still stuck at 0%
3. I've created reset TCP in windows. Still stuck at 0%
4. I've removed UAC. Still stuck at 0%
Posts: 8
1. I've now also used the msconfig procedure and disabled all services. Still unable to get past 0% on my installer.

2. I've also tried doing the Internet Connection method in LAN Settings and disable autodetect (as some forum users suggested), still stuck at 0%
Support Forum Agent
Posts: 34,568
Timmy, can you stay in a Selective Startup, and list the Running Tasks and Services?

Hit the Windows key + R, and type:
msinfo32
Then hit Enter or Ok.

This will bring up System Information.

Click on the + sign next to Software Environments
Click on Running Tasks
Click on one item on the right side
Click on Edit, and then Select All (Or hit Ctrl-A)
Click on Edit, and the Copy (Or hit Ctrl-C)

Then Paste everything into a reply.

Then click on Services
Click on one item on the right side
Click on Edit, and then Select All (Or hit Ctrl-A)
Click on Edit, and the Copy (Or hit Ctrl-C)

Paste everything into the post, select and highlight everything you just pasted, and hit the "pre" button (It says "Code Blocks" when you hover your mouse over it). That'll make the information much more readable.
________________________________________________
Monday - Friday, 8 am - 5 pm PST
Pelinti
Posts: 19
Id like to also report i am have this problem on my laptop,
My desktop is fine thou.
Posts: 1
I have the same problem here. I'd like to hear from admin if there is a way to manually update the launcher. Your system is obviously faulty and I must say this is extremely frustrating
Posts: 949
Using another user account in windows helped open the launcher/game. But this is not a solution.
Posts: 2
I have the same problem. Always such a pain to start Blizzard products. Will try some of the suggestions here.
Posts: 3
Hi guys, here's my solution to the same problem(Stuck at 70% for all Blizzard Games) that you guys had. Struggled for hours before finally finding out how to fix mine.

1. Go to Internet Explorer
2. Press Alt -> Files -> untick "Working Offline"(For some reason, working offline was checked even though I've never touched that option)
3. Enjoy! It's not something technical(:
Edited by Gallantry on 3/25/2013 12:20 PM PDT
This topic is locked.

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)

Reported!

[Close]