StarCraft® II

Patch 2.0.4 Editor Changes

Developer
Posts: 222
In 2.0 we've made some improvements and additions to the editor. This thread is for discussing those changes and any new issues that occur. From the patch notes, here are the changes to the editor:

  • General
    • A new preload Info dialog has been added for defining game data, asset files, and banks to be preloaded in-game. This is accessible from the Map/Mod menus in all modules
    • Added color preferences for text preview display.
    • The Arcade Info dialog has been renamed tBattle.net Info. This info is now available for non-arcade maps as well.
    • New SC2Interface files:
      • Mods can now optionally be saved as SC2Interface files as long as they don’t have any data which affects gameplay.
      • Mod gameplay/interface status can be checked using the Mod > Mod Status window.
    • New Export Locales and Import Locales commands have been added. These are available under the Map/Mod > Locales sub-menu. These can be used to export and import localized text to and from text files.
    • The Dependency dialog now includes a display of the full dependency chain resulting from the requested dependencies. Dependency reference checking and validation now accounts for the full chain properly in all cases.
    • The Dependency dialog now issues a warning when Multi mods are used in conjunction with Story mods. These are designed to be mutually exclusive and could cause a variety of problems in game when combined.
    • Added toolbar button size preference.

  • AI Module
    • A new Attack Wave Graphs window is now available from the Data menu, for visualizing attack wave cost/supplies vs. time.
Edited by Tenarsis on 2/21/2013 2:38 PM PST
Reply Quote
Developer
Posts: 222
  • Cutscene Module
    • Added Cutscene Frames. Cutscene frames are dialog items you can play a cutscene in.
    • New Properties have been added:
      • Animation Element:
        • Right-Aligned: Animations can now specify that they always end at the end of the block.
        • Weight: The blend value for this animation block.
      • Director Node:
        • Reverb: The reverb to set while playing back the cutscene.
        • Auto Destroy on End: When disabled, the cutscene will not be destroyed when it ends, but instead it will pause on the final frame.
      • Sound Node:
        • Non-Seeking: If enabled, causes the sound to not change its current time when the current time jumps.
        • Speaker Mix: You can now set and animate the speaker mix values.
      • Fade Node
        • Priority: Allows you to specify the priority level of a fade when multiple scenes attempt to control fade.
    • Terrain is now automatically imported when starting the Cutscene Module.
    • Active Light Nodes will now search for a light suffixed with "_Low" if graphics options are set to Medium or Low.
    • New icons added for all node types!
    • Added a new "Time Follows Edits" mode under the edit menu that causes the timeline cursor to always follow the edited block.
    • Sound Improvements:
      • Added Sound Group Nodes: These folder-like nodes allow you to add sound nodes to them then set properties for all sounds inside the group at once.
      • Volume and pitch properties are now treated as multipliers instead of absolute values.
      • Setting sound index t-1 now causes it to pick a new variation each time it plays.
      • Sounds now properly fade out after their blocks end.
      • Sounds can now specify Active Shots.
    • Value changes that represent less than 0.1% of a difference no longer create new keys in auto key mode.
    • You can now add multiple cutscene filters when playing back a cutscene.
    • Cutscenes are now played back in Replays.

  • Data Module
    • Added the Data Navigator Window. This new window visualizes how objects are linked to one another.
    • Each tab in the Data Module now remembers its own view mode.
    • Model Preview Panes now animate with the model's default animation, making effects easier to identify.
    • New data types have been added: Herd, Herd Node
    • User Type fields defining user links can optionally specify a required user type
    • Added a new Select in Palette command.
    • Added F2 support for renaming objects.
    • “Show Advanced Values” is now “Show Basic Field Labels”. Instead of hiding advanced fields, it adds “(Basic)” to the name of basic fields and sorts them to the top.
    • Fixed size arrays are now edited as one control for each array entry rather than using a list-based UI.
    • “Show Default Values” is now “Sort Fields By Source”. Instead of hiding default values, it will sort values in the order: Active Document, User Mod, Blizzard Mod, Core Mod.
    • Added field hint tooltips to dropdowns for enum type fields.
    • Structure sub-fields now properly display composite field hint tooltips.
    • Many new field hints added for Abilities, Actors, Effects, and Units.
Edited by Tenarsis on 2/21/2013 12:19 PM PST
Reply Quote
Developer
Posts: 222
  • Overview Manager
    • Added a new Jump To Instances command in the context menu for jumping from function definition to corresponding calls.
    • Added a new Show Global Links Only option in the View menu for seeing global trigger elements directly in the Used By links.

  • Terrain Module
    • A new Diamond region shape has been added.
    • A new Diagonal Selection option has been added in the Tools menu for selecting objects and terrain along the diagonal grid.
    • A new View option has been added for displaying normal/upgraded creep, under View > Show Terrain > Show Creep Upgraded.
    • Units marked as Initially Hidden will use an alpha fade effect in the editor display.
    • Palette existing objects lists now include a Group filter and column, and context menus for Add To Group and Remove From Group.
    • The Water palette now includes a Height slider for adjusting the height of the current water template.
    • No Fly Zones now have three color states: Normal (no overlap), Overlap (hard radii overlap), and Warning (only soft radii overlap). For best pathing performance, avoid the Warning state.
    • Foliage density maximum reduced to 2.0 per cell. Anything larger than this significantly impacts game performance.
    • Added "Force Occlusion Hide" to placed doodads, which forces doodads to be transparent if units are behind it.

  • Trigger Module
    • Added a Preview button for previewing sounds directly from parameter dialog.
    • A View History Navigation option, including Back and Forward commands, is now available from View > History sub-menu.
    • A new Explorer view has been added for seeing global elements referenced by the currently selected element, available under View > Show Explorer.
    • A new Smart group display has been added, which opens a second group only when an element is explicitly viewed via double-click or View Selection command. This is toggled under View > Show Groups.
    • Libraries defined in the active document are now shown in the Triggers list rather than the Libraries list. The Libraries list will only contain read-only dependency libraries.
    • Elements can now be dragged and dropped from one library to another. This will include updating all usage of those elements in the active document.
    • A new view option has been added for setting default input focus on search fields vs. lists, available under View > View Options > Default focus On Search Fields.
Edited by Tenarsis on 2/21/2013 12:28 PM PST
Reply Quote
Developer
Posts: 222
Bug Fixes
  • General
    • Automatic backups for documents saved as component lists will now properly save multiple backup files.
    • Tutorial game variant will not be changed when other variants are added or removed.
    • Fixed various issues with downloading dependency data from Battle.net when opening a document.
    • Fixed issues with team settings in variants for maps with a large number of players.
    • Fixed an issue where the editor could crash if the user’s build was not completely downloaded.

  • Cutscene Module
    • Fixed several issues related to Undo/Redo.
    • Fixed several issues related to element linking.
    • You can now place or move objects at height zero if there is no terrain visible.
    • Actors with conversation nodes will now animate when not in view, allowing dialog to play at the correct time.
    • Active Light elements no longer change the light one frame late.
    • You can now chain together bookmark jumps.
    • You can no longer use non-Ascii characters in Cutscene Names or Bookmark Names.
    • You can no longer rename the (Previewer) scene.
    • Scenes with very large linking webs should now load much faster.
    • Fixed a bug where models would sometimes continue to draw when switching cutscenes.
    • Editing curve values should now preserve custom curve tangents.
    • Previewing from other modules will now set the Cutscene Module back to the (Previewer) scene.

  • Terrain Module
    • Painted pathing visibility is now properly tied to visibility of the Pathing layer.
    • Distance measurement now accounts for ramps properly.

  • Trigger Module
    • Eliminated excessive delays when modifying functions which are heavily used in the document.
    • Comments can now be moved/pasted into switch cases.
    • Ability Commands using Any or All sub-types will now show all possible parameter values.
    • Unit trigger events now properly handle using a unit array element for the unit parameter.
    • Last Created functions now return an empty value if the last creation failed, rather than the result of the previous creation.
    • Invalid effect ids will no longer be treated as "any effect" in events.
    • Data conversations with choices will now run properly in game, as long as cinematic mode is enabled.
    • Fixed an out of memory crash that could occur when adding a region to itself using triggers.
    • It is now possible to copy triggers across libraries inside the same mod.


  • Data Module
    • Ability and Weapon Arc data values now accept 360 as values.
Edited by Tenarsis on 2/21/2013 12:28 PM PST
Reply Quote
Developer
Posts: 222
The rest of the patch notes including game changes are available here:
http://us.battle.net/sc2/en/blog/8724162/StarCraft_II_Wings_of_Liberty_Patch_204-2_19_2013
Edited by Tenarsis on 2/21/2013 12:24 PM PST
Reply Quote
Posts: 8,207
I suck at map making, so this wont change a thing, but it's still cool!

Thanks Blizzard! <33
Reply Quote
Posts: 313
Awesome changes blizzard, thank you!
Reply Quote
Posts: 1,392
i hate the new modifications, PLEASE change it back -_-... it is horrible, not everything wc3 did was perfect, that being said, there are SOME things it did do better. I think the fact that you guys are looking back and trying to bring back that experience is great, BUT i dont think this was one of the things people have been crying about.
Reply Quote
Posts: 1,012
02/21/2013 02:41 PMPosted by IShadowWolf
i hate the new modifications, PLEASE change it back -_-... it is horrible, not everything wc3 did was perfect, that being said, there are SOME things it did do better. I think the fact that you guys are looking back and trying to bring back that experience is great, BUT i dont think this was one of the things people have been crying about.
It's a list of like 50 different things, please be specific.
Reply Quote
Posts: 1,392
02/22/2013 05:34 AMPosted by Decapitator
i hate the new modifications, PLEASE change it back -_-... it is horrible, not everything wc3 did was perfect, that being said, there are SOME things it did do better. I think the fact that you guys are looking back and trying to bring back that experience is great, BUT i dont think this was one of the things people have been crying about.
It's a list of like 50 different things, please be specific.


... you are not a data editor aye?

Modifications is a Field in behaviors :P. they moved everything out of arrays, so it hurts your head.... you cant copy paste, etc.
Reply Quote
Posts: 16
What do you do to get a higher level? Play ranked or unranked?
Reply Quote
Posts: 1,392
02/22/2013 03:04 PMPosted by EpicFoxx
What do you do to get a higher level? Play ranked or unranked?


Wrong forum...
Reply Quote
Posts: 1,392
I am close to being finished with my project until this is reverted... I have spent the past hour doing 5 minutes worth of work

http://i.imgur.com/wn4wNMe.png

http://i.imgur.com/RPAzn6o.png (notice how its 2 down in the background its not the same, its happening often).

And here's another picture.

http://i183.photobucket.com/albums/x171/11shadowwolf/IWHkVhj_zps251df648.png

http://i.imgur.com/9CxTmsu.png I am stil on 13, but this time it was switching to the units tab.

theres a 20 second lag just opening modifications at all now.

http://imgur.com/9YgHNj6 (14 combat tab)

http://imgur.com/kf16TML(still on 14, unit tab)

Okay I am not going to do this till the final one....

But its doing it on EVERY ONE OF THEM, i have been doing this 10 minute job for over an hour and a half... REVERT IT PLEASE.f

Edit UPDATE: I was about to quit my project until further notice, since I was unable to continue. but then I was reminded that if you have it in list view and you click the little plus on the field it collapses. and is lag free, Unlike the new modifications window -_-
Edited by IShadowWolf on 2/25/2013 5:24 PM PST
Reply Quote
Developer
Posts: 222
02/21/2013 02:41 PMPosted by IShadowWolf
i hate the new modifications, PLEASE change it back -_-... it is horrible, not everything wc3 did was perfect, that being said, there are SOME things it did do better. I think the fact that you guys are looking back and trying to bring back that experience is great, BUT i dont think this was one of the things people have been crying about.


I am going to change it back until we have time to resolve some of the issues you have brought up. Thanks.
Reply Quote
Posts: 21
Hi Tenarsis,

I may have found an editor bug in regards to the Trigger action "Add unit to control group".

I have a trigger which periodically spawns a Marine and adds it to control group 1. However, if any other units within control group 1 are inside a Bunker or other transport at the time the trigger runs, those units are removed from the control group, and remain not included in the control group even if the Bunker or transport is unloaded later.

Prior to 2.0.4 this trigger was working fine, which leads me to believe it's an editor bug. I look forward to your reply.

Thank you,
Swagblanket
Edited by Swagblanket on 4/6/2013 2:37 PM PDT
Reply Quote
Posts: 3
Hi,

I've been working on a mod that adds new custom races to the game.
In a recent patch, it appears existing Galaxy functionality has been broken.
I've managed to find a way to simply reproduce the issue.

All you have to do to replicate the issue is the following:

1. Open any map.
2. Verify existing functionality for current races.
a) Go to Map>>Player Properties. Set Player 1's race on the Player's tab as "Terran".
b) Test Map (Ctrl + F9). Everything should be normal.
3. Duplicate a race.
a) Data Editor>>"Races" tab. Right click on Terran and select "Duplicate Race..." and click "Ok".
b) Repeat step 2, but instead of "Terran", set "Terran Copy" as the race. Instead of having normal functionality there will be a darkened screen in which you can't select anything.

Please restore the functionality for creating custom races.
Reply Quote

Please report any Code of Conduct violations, including:

Threats of violence. We take these seriously and will alert the proper authorities.

Posts containing personal information about other players. This includes physical addresses, e-mail addresses, phone numbers, and inappropriate photos and/or videos.

Harassing or discriminatory language. This will not be tolerated.

Forums Code of Conduct

Report Post # written by

Reason
Explain (256 characters max)

Reported!

[Close]