StarCraft® II

SC2 Lite - Automacro

Hey guys,
I’ve made a simple mod for melee maps that simplifies macro via autocasting. It’s not a new idea, but I wanted to try it out-- turns out it’s pretty fun and simple to implement.

Now I’m looking for some help incorporating a few tweaks and advanced features. I’m fairly new to the map editor and not sure how to properly use things like validators. Feedback is also appreciated!

HOTS Map: SC2 Lite Antiga Shipyard

Can be found via HOTS bnet search.

Protoss/Terran: All “train” commands may now be autocast by right clicking the unit’s button. Units will be trained one at a time pending available resources. Cheaper units are prioritized.

Zerg: Spawn Larvae may now be autocast by right clicking the ability on any queen. She will autoinject on any available hatchery within range 7.

These changes are fairly simple, but have a pretty profound impact on the game. It’s possible for a relative noob to macro quite well, and mid level players will find themselves with significantly more APM with which to micro their units.

The overall effect is more fluid, natural feeling gameplay without changing the strategy or meta of the SC2 we know and love.

FAQ

• 1. Why?

For fun, first and foremost. These modifications have been discussed on the forums since the Beta, and I decided to just try it.

Nexus Wars and Desert Strike are some of the most popular games on battle.net, but they get dull. I wanted to create something that simplified macro without removing all the subtle strategy and fun micro of the real game.

Most importantly, I wanted to offer less skilled players a way to experience the deeper aspects of starcraft that are normally inaccessible to them.