StarCraft® II

'Waiting for Server' is back again?

Since the latest patch, I've been getting the 'Waiting for Server: Surrender' screen a lot during games. I thought it might have been my wireless connection so I started playing music off pandora during my games. My music doesn't stop playing at any point so I don't think I'm losing internet connection. It's getting frustrating and laddering is kinda pointless when I can't finish my games.

Has this problem been arising for anyone else after the patch? Can I fix it or what?

Thanks for any help you can give me.
Reply Quote
Support Forum Agent
Meep, I'd check for the latest firmware for your router first, and then try different wireless modes. The latest firmware and the manual will be available on the manufacturer's support site.
I think the new patch introduced some connectivity issues beyond just people still downloading the patch. I mostly play Arcade customs, many of which large lobbies of 8-12 players; it's become an order of magnitude more common for people to get dropped than it was pre-patch. Almost every game has at least somebody who is having intermittent connection leading to stuttering lag; fortunately, most people are good sports about it and leave once they realize it's them causing the problems.

Twice I've run into an issue where SC2 just froze up (program not responding). First time I just killed the program; second time I waited it out, and about a minute later it started moving again - although the game had kept going in the meantime. I checked with the other players who were still there, and apparently almost all the other players had run into the same issue at the same time.