StarCraft® II

blzpts00008

getting the 00008 when trying to launch can not extract from archive. I have tried every suggestion still the same results. I have also read all threads with responses and tried those as well.
Reply Quote
I am no computer expert but I have gone through step by step with every suggestion.
Reply Quote
Support Forum Agent
TimmyC,

It sounds like something is preventing the launcher from connecting. There are lots of things that can cause this.

If you are using Windows Vista/7/8, please try right clicking on your game shortcut and select the Run as administrator option.

Disabling or temporarily uninstalling firewall and anti-virus programs (Norton, McAfee, etc) can permit the patch to complete successfully. Of course, do not remove security software if you can't reinstall it, and always restore disabled security after patching.

If the issue persists, we can try resetting the launcher files completely. Follow the steps here to do that.
Reply Quote
Ok have tried all of those suggestions more than once with no change what so ever. I have not played in over a month due to this problem. I have un installed and re installed plus every suggestion there was a thread for with no results.
Reply Quote
So am I just SOL on this I don't feel like wasting my time trying to figure this out but I did pay for the game. I just feel ripped off you can not even play it off line.
Reply Quote
Support Forum Agent
TimmyC,

I'd like to get a bit more information regarding the situation. What were the results for the steps you tried? What security program are you running? Did you uninstall or disable it? What happened when you deleted the Battle.net folder?
Reply Quote
I am running McAfee and did drop the firewall to try and patch. nothing different happened. Same when I deleted the Battle.net folder same results. The launcher sets up get 1/2 way through checking for updates then gives me the error message. I have tried to open it as the admin as well.
Reply Quote