StarCraft® II

Command Q issues

So I have been playing SC2 since beta, and never really had this issue until I started playing SotIS

each char uses the commands q w e r in the game to cast spells, since sometimes i need to be mobile and don't have plug-in mouse available I use the standard keyboard/mouse

anyways.... I sometimes end up pressing Cmd+Q which threatens to quit the SC2 app
I did some minor investigating and found a decent website addressing the issue but for Safari

http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=2003050112482698

They show a Terminal command listed as '{"Quit Safari"="@Q";}' to possibly disable the Cmd+Q short cut..
they stated that its not a sure thing for game applications and I'm not the best on this subject matter
does anyone agree with this statement or have any further insight into safely disabling cmd+q for SC2 application

thanks
Reply Quote
You can change the shortcut used for quitting SC2 by opening System Preferences, choosing Keyboard -> Keyboard Shortcuts -> Application Shortcuts. Click the "+" button, then for Application: choose Other... and find your installation and navigate down to the StarCraft II/Versions/Base16605 folder and choose SC2.

Then type "Quit StarCraft II" (exactly, no quotes) for Menu Title and type command-option-Q for Keyboard shortcut (or whatever else you want to change it to).
Reply Quote
Unfortunately, this method will probably require you to re-apply it after each patch. Just FYI.
Reply Quote
Yeah, badwolf, yours was the first thing I tried (logically :D) and it didn't seem to work too well...
but then again a new patch came out the next day, so this might explain it
I'll do more investigating on the subject with future patching

Thanks again guys!
Reply Quote