StarCraft® II

Looking for some help

Hello.

I know I've made a couple of threads over the past days, but I decided it was best if I just made one thread where I ask the questions.

I just played a game where I got completely owned and I'm looking to get some tips and advice.
I've only been playing SC2 since Wednesday so yeah I'm a big noob...

Here's the replay:
http://drop.sc/333206
Reply Quote
Probes and Pylons until diamond.
Reply Quote
what do you mean?
Reply Quote
"Probes and pylons" is just a recognition that SC2 is at is basest level a race to see how can make more stuff faster. The mechanics of always building workers and never getting supply blocked are the simplest distillation of what you absolutely have to do to not fall behind in that race. People know this, but even average players fail to follow the concept reliably.

If you are always bulding workers, expanding when you're over-saturated and successfully holding your expansions, then spending any "extra" money consistently in a semi-sane fashion on units, tech, and production will make you an above-average player.
Reply Quote
He means that until you are in diamond league, the only thing you should focus your attention on is constantly building probes, and building pylons frequently enough that you do not get supply blocked.

StarCraft, at its core, is a game of economy. If you can gather more resources than your opponent and spend them all, then you usually have a bigger army, and the bigger army usually wins (at least in the lower leagues).

In standard play, you should literally be constantly making workers (this means having 1-2 queued up at any given moment, as having any more ties up too many of your minerals which could be spent elsewhere). The only time when you "cut probes" (which means to stop making probes) is when you are attacking or warping in units to defend.