StarCraft® II

Kiting Marauders?

Hi. I am seeing a lot of heated debates ensuing in the forum, and I just wanted to ask a strategy question which hopefully would inspire less ferocity.

I am a total noob at this game, and I play in Silver league at SEA.

I see that Massed Marauder is a popular trend in PvT, and I understand that Zealots are probably the best solution in the early-mid game.

I often end up losing a lot of units because kiting stimed (or not) Marauders just fry my Zealots (regardless of charge). Some people even get smarter by leaving behind a single Marauder or Marine to 'trick' the Zealots to surround that single Marauder.

Is Zealot really the only option against a Marauder-Marine death ball?

I try to transition to Robotics by getting Immortals and building Bay to get Colossi ready. By the time I get my first Colossus though, I get overrun because of the one-sided trades I get between gateway units and bio units.

Whenever I start a PvT, I pretty much assume my opponent would go Bio and start my build until I scout for further developments. Even with that, I lose practically all the matches, unless the Terran player does something different like Thors with infantry support; in which case, I would counter with HT, Zealot, and air.

Do you have any suggestions on dealing with the Kiting Marauders? I can pull my Zealots for the Stim to wear off, but they usually wait out until they get medevacs and I'm pretty much screwed.
Reply Quote
Are you talking about WOL or HOTS? And when your talking about maruader-marine kitting, are you having problem in the early game with rushes before medivacs or are you talking about later on?
Reply Quote
Flanking or leading with high templar to storm them can make sure you do some damage in return.
You can also keep the colossus at the front of your army to get off the first shot or two and pull them back while the zealots charge forward.