StarCraft® II

ZvZ tips?

I've lost the past 5 ZvZs because the enemy has more economy. I dunno how, but whatever I do, they do better, and I do horribly.

I go ling/bling, they do it better, somehow, and get 3 bases before i saturate my third.

They go muta, I try and try and lose.
They go roach/hydra, I lost.

I dunno what to do. Any tips?
Reply Quote
Mirror match-ups are a pain in the .....

Especially ZvZ, Ling/bling fights are the worst. Just be careful about losing all your lings. I always do the single ling trade for 1 bling.

Avoid Muta vs Muta, just put up spores. Maybe hydras.. Maybe try to snipe off their natural with a pack of lings while they harass you.

Roach hydra I feel like can be countered with lings and mutas.

Actually, kind of realized I shouldn't e the one giving out tips.. since I am brand new to HoTS. But these would be the things I would do in WoL.

-Oh and for some reason, I love using nydus worms in ZvZ.. idk why, seems..right.
Reply Quote
ZvZ is a great metric of just how much stuff you can get and how fast. It's different than other MUs because you don't have a period in the beginning where you can just auto-drone for 5 minutes, so it stretches your multitasking harder.

Without seeing replays I'm of course guessing, but if your troubles with ZvZ are anywhere similar to mine, you will improve dramatically by working on injects/droning while doing the ling/bling dance. Even if he's going for crazy heavy ling action, force yourself to make 1 drone every x ling/bling you make. You'd be amazed how many games you win just by pulling ahead in econ while on 2 bases.

2 spines will 1-round a single ling trying to pop your banes. Food for thought.
Reply Quote
06/27/2013 06:22 PMPosted by Ataraxia