Trying to pick a tank

87 Draenei Shaman
I just came back after about a year off, and want to level a tank for cata. I played a pally tank in BC, and I've been doing some research, but let's just go with the idea that I have zero knowledge of any of the tanking classes.
Can someone please give a brief synopsis of of the pros and cons of each tanking class and how they are performing at 85 in the beta? I know things are still being tweaked and changing constantly, so just general impressions are fine.
Keep in mind that I am not a hardcore raider and will be focusing more on 5 mans and maybe the occasional raid.
Tanks (haha) in advance for any and all information.
Edited by Baltu on 11/9/2010 8:43 AM PST
Reply Quote
85 Human Paladin
Death Knights are the tank currently believed to be OP. However, that may even still completely change before it goes live. Just a few weeks ago it would have been druids. Aside from that, the tanks seem fairly even in terms of survivability.

Pros for a paladin: mana as a resource (that never seems to actually run out), strong self heals with word of glory
Cons: no interrupt that is off the GCD

Somebody would have to help me out with pros and cons for other classes. Really, though, you should figure out which one you actually like playing. They're close enough right now that that is the overriding factor in what to play.
Reply Quote
89 Draenei Paladin
Well another con against paladins is any form of sielnce pretty much shuts us down except for our strikes. Judgment, Avenger's Shield, Shield of the Righteous, Holy Wrath, Consecrate, pretty much everything is pretty much unusable till the silence wear's off.
Edited by Louneigru on 11/9/2010 8:56 AM PST
Reply Quote
85 Human Paladin
Well another con against paladins is any form of sielnce pretty much shuts us down except for our strikes. Judgment, Avenger's Shield, Shield of the Righteous, Holy Wrath, Consecrate, pretty much everything is pretty much unusable till the silence wear's off.