Sub PvP going down combat and not assassin?

85 Undead Rogue
First off, I'll tell you right now: I'm a noob to all dps, rogue's especially. I play healers. Keep that in mind. =)

So I was looking at Sub PvP specs, and every one I've seen goes down assassin for puncturing wounds. I was curious if this is viable at all:

http://wowtal.com/#k=fv1IZe69.a8t.rogue.

Going down combat for a silence and root/snare removal. Seems like it's just a defensive option. Thoughts?

Edit: Fixed the link
Edited by Pyrogasm on 11/12/2010 6:11 AM PST
Reply Quote
100 Blood Elf Rogue
Sadly I'm still gonna go out on a limb and say Burst > Intense Survivability. As a 80/85 rogue you have too many tools at your disposal to really need to take a lot of defensive talents.

In terms of defense. http://wowtal.com/#k=Y_z5HtADZ.a8t.rogue.RJlLFu

Might want to be as bad as it gets. Taking the Cloak/Prep glyph would help with defensive CDs but since 4.0 less and less people take the Prep Glyph for Evasion/Garrote/Sprint glyphs. There is some wiggle room for taking glyphs depending on team comps/minor play preference.

With Imp recup, (counting prep, essentially ) Two vanishes, an evasions, two smoke bombs, two dismantles, and two kicks. There isn't much more you could get that would save you. Because if after that you need more, you might be doing something wrong, or try a different play style.
Reply Quote
85 Undead Rogue
Thanks for the input. Would you say it's usable without being totally gimped?
Reply Quote
100 Blood Elf Rogue
I'd say you'd be pretty gimp. Your overall dps wouldn't be able to overcome any sort of healers, even some defensive regenerations. It the long run, I'd say alot of rogue fights are more who can deplete the opponents health first (Simple, right?).

But that requires alot of knowledge for most classes knowing when to pop what CD or if popping another CD is more efficient IE, you're snared by a mage, you can; Trinket, Cloak, or Vanish to get out. Which would you use? Why?