Account hacked and PayPal used... How?

(Locked)

90 Pandaren Monk
At 11:23pm last night I received a text saying that SMS protect had been disabled on my account.
At 12:18 this morning I received an email from PayPal saying 2 transactions had been processed from my Blizzard account.
At 12:25am I received 3 emails stating that 3 character transfers and a faction change went through

I inspected my account this morning and it appears that all of my characters have been looted and then transferred off server. I had quite a few items on my characters and also had officer access to a guild so it's possible the guild bank was also affected.

I did not authorize any of these changes, let alone paying through my PayPal. How were the safeguards bypassed is my main question?

I took the appropriate steps after my account being hacked such as changing the password, adding the authenticator per your instructions, and so forth. But as I said I am an IT professional and keep my computer secure. I verified each location I access the computer from was malware/spyware free as well as free of keyloggers. Additionally, I highly doubt that complex enough malware to accomplish this has been developed for Windows 8 so far, as I have yet to come across anything both from my customer's computers as well as my own in my own browsing.

I am also not convinced an authenticator will prevent this from happening again. In the past friends have had their accounts hacked with an authenticator and had changes made without their consent on their accounts. Their computers were also free of malware and spyware and evidence would indicate that accounts are being changed on the back end rather than through the official website.

Not to mention that yet another safeguard (implemented by Blizzard) such as accessing an account from an unfamiliar IP immediately locks the account and requires SMS protect authorization and/or a password reset, neither of which occurred.